VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 10:33:19 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
Author Topic: VL 5.9 Light RC1 bugs/annoyances.  (Read 27094 times)
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #30 on: June 06, 2008, 03:47:44 am »

I know this is not a bug in the current RC1 but thought it may be of interest to those who use LXDE and upgrade to LXDE 0.3.2.1 In Vcontrol the hardware tab will not work it freezes the program and have to kill it with xkill.  So there is no way to set the clock in LXDE. I don't know if the bug is in lxde or vcontrol panel. will investigate more.
Dave
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #31 on: June 06, 2008, 04:11:04 am »

I Should clarify my last post about lxde 0.3.2.1  Vasm still works fine so you can set the clock , just VasmCC will not work.
is there a way to get ntpd to start on boot up ?
Thanks
Dave
P.S. as you can tell exact time is important here at KC1DI.
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #32 on: June 06, 2008, 04:53:37 am »

I am running lxde-common-0.3.2.1 here, and mine vasmcc works fine.

Can you explain exactly what you mean by "set the clock" ?
do you mean adjusting the system time or changing the way the clock displays the system time?
Logged

kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #33 on: June 06, 2008, 05:53:18 am »

hi MOE-inx,

I mean setting the system clock,  if i bring up vasmCC and go to Hardware it freezes (locks up) By setting the time I mean the datetime entry in Vasmcc - if I run vsam from a terminal it works fine to set the time.
So I supspect that there is a conflict of some sort but don't know what yet.  If I bring vasmCC up in a terminal it still hangs when I try to enter the Hardware section. but there is no error message in the terminal.  Perhaps it's because I have my panel clock set to show the seconds I'll try it without that see if it makes a difference. No that did not make a difference either. 

So I may have something setup wrong but don't know what yet.  I had this problem but wanted to re partition my drive anyway so this is a completely new install of light and lxde 0.3.2.1. 

Hope that helps.
Have a great day ,
Dave
« Last Edit: June 06, 2008, 05:56:38 am by kc1di » Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #34 on: June 06, 2008, 06:42:45 am »

That's weird... I'd like to get more details to see if there really is a problem in vasmCC

When you click on the "HARDWARE" category, do you see the icons for the available options? or does it not show the icons at all?

If the icons do show up, do any of the other icons work?

In case the icons do not show up, can you post the results of
Code:
ls -al /usr/share/vasmCC/hardware
Logged

kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #35 on: June 06, 2008, 07:58:13 am »

No Icons it just locks up / CPU useage goes to 100% and stays there until i use xkill to kill it. if I minumize it then maximize it come back with a blank box.

here is the out put of ls -al /usr/share/vasmCC/hardware
Code:
kc1di:$ ls -al /usr/share/vasmCC/hardware
total 44
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 2008-01-25 22:17 ./
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 2008-01-30 16:12 ../
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  156 2008-02-10 18:19 valsaconf.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  138 2008-01-25 22:17 vcdset.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  136 2008-01-25 22:17 vdateset.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  141 2008-01-25 22:17 vhalswitch.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  141 2008-01-25 22:17 vhwconf.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  147 2008-01-25 22:17 vhwset.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  137 2008-01-25 22:17 vkmapset.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  126 2008-01-25 22:17 vmouseset.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  132 2008-01-25 22:17 vzoneset.desktop

hope this helps


Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #36 on: June 06, 2008, 08:54:08 am »

Huh!... that's weird.

One more thing... which version of vasmCC do you have?
Logged

kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #37 on: June 06, 2008, 09:33:57 am »

Huh!... that's weird.

One more thing... which version of vasmCC do you have?


1.0.12-i586-3vl59 (according to gslapt)
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #38 on: June 06, 2008, 09:41:37 am »

when I start vasmCC with a terminal I do get this error message
Code:
Gtk-WARNING **: Could not find the icon 'vasmcc.png'. The 'hicolor' theme
was not found either, perhaps you need to install it.
You can get a copy from:
        http://icon-theme.freedesktop.org/releases


Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #39 on: June 09, 2008, 12:16:17 pm »

Installed LXDE on my VL standard. As far as I understand this is the same LXDE that used in Light RC1?

So about the errors:
Pannel often, but not always disappear when I am disconnected from the internet.
when I run lxpanel from terminal it starts, but without that nice icon that shows network connections and shows error saying that this plugin is unable to run. As far as I understand this is why it sometimes doesn't load at X start.


About the Trash:
I could access it through Thunar.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2008, 12:20:48 pm by budulay » Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #40 on: June 09, 2008, 12:25:08 pm »

LXDE has not yet implemented a trash can .... Last I heard they're still working on one.
Logged

budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #41 on: June 09, 2008, 01:36:39 pm »

Well, I emptied trash using Thunar Grin
Maybe it wasn't LXDE's trash... Shocked

ALso about errors:
can't mount CD-R on LXDE.
Switches back to JWM - works just fine.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #42 on: June 11, 2008, 01:31:31 pm »

Well, I emptied trash using Thunar Grin
Maybe it wasn't LXDE's trash... Shocked

ALso about errors:
can't mount CD-R on LXDE.
Switches back to JWM - works just fine.
same... actually cd desktop icon does not work at all..but you can still mount and eject cds with thunar
Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #43 on: June 11, 2008, 07:49:10 pm »

I tried to do it from terminal. Had the error message. Than I inserted other CD-R and it worked. After switching to JWM I could mount both of them.
That happened after I messed up with fstab file trying to do this.
But I returned everything on its place and still had an error in LXDE...
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #44 on: June 12, 2008, 08:02:18 am »

RC1 is a complete no-go for me.  I can't get it to boot up on my hardware.  Please note that I have no problems with Beta 5 and I have an advanced copy of VL 5.9 SOHO (final) that also installed just fine.  The installation process seems to work flawlessly but after that the system hangs at different points during bootup.  BY hanging I mean I can walk away, have lunch, do something else, come back two hours later and it's still where it was.  I can't break out of the bootup process to a prompt, either. 

The first couple of times I saw this it hung on starting up parallel so I booted into another partition (a different distro) and disabled the parallel port rc script on the VL side.  Then it hung at alsa instead.

I thought I might have a bad iso so I downloaded and burned a new one.  No go.  I tried a hosted install (vinstall-iso) with yet another downloaded iso.  I got the same result.  I can go no farther with this.

-Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!