Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.  (Read 2244 times)

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« on: May 26, 2008, 12:18:49 pm »
I haven't tried anything with wine yet and have some stupid questions.

Is it installed by default to linux deluxe 5.9 or do I have to install it?

Does it emulate direct x so audio apps/games using direct x can run?

How do I use try it if it is already installed, and where can I find more info on using it and installing windows apps to my vectorlinux pc?

Steven

Dweeberkitty

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
    • Multimedia Bonus Disc
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 12:25:15 pm »
Hello haywire,

I have found that using wine is a hit and miss kind of a deal. Yes it does run audio apps and games and works with directx. I have actually had great success with Morrowind and Call of Duty. Also I use Macromedia Studio 8 for web design under wine (actually runs faster than with Windows).

I am not sure whether deluxe has wine installed but I know you can install it using the testing repository with Gslapt. I hope you can what you want to run working. A lot of programs work and a lot don't work. I wouldn't get my hopes up on whatever you wish to run, but if it works, all the better to you!
Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1311
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 02:36:09 pm »
Hi
If wine is installed you likely have a .wine folder in the hidden files of your home directory.

I have wine installed to 5.9-std from the repository but seem to have little need for it

I have run several applications for windows which are self contained and were on a thumb..I also ran a cad program and dvdshrink with success which required install..my only issue was the need to add a font pack for a couple of games.

you may find this interesting

http://appdb.winehq.org/appbrowse.php

and if you are a gamer

http://supergamer.org/

hope that helps a little
cheers
Everything Is Relative

Dweeberkitty

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
    • Multimedia Bonus Disc
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2008, 02:42:44 pm »
Hi
If wine is installed you likely have a .wine folder in the hidden files of your home directory.

Only if you have used wine before in your user I think.

If you have wine installed, try running:

Code: [Select]
$ wineprefixcreate
Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1311
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2008, 02:47:43 pm »
Oh..good point..thanks for that.....newbie...that's me.....
« Last Edit: May 26, 2008, 02:49:21 pm by overthere »
Everything Is Relative

haywire

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2008, 01:01:24 am »
I looked around my system pretty good, and I don't see any mention of wine in the start menu, I see no folders for it. I don't think vector linux 5.9 deluxe installs wine, but I could be wrong. Any idea how I can tell for sure if it is installed?

I'm still stuck in dial up, and worse yet, AOL, so I can't use gslapt. AOL will not allow a
standard ppp dialer on another os to connect... I need a proggy called penngy for that.

Someone is packaging penngy for me so I can get my vector pc online. Until that happens all I can do is download zips and transfer the to cd's for my vector pc. SUCKS.

If I can get my vector pc on the internet I may never use my windows box again, especially if wine euqipped vector will run just a few apps I'd really prefer to keep using (Adobe audition, dreamweaver, and just a few others)

Once I upgrade to a more powerful pc for my vector linux pc, I think I will spring for VMWARE workstation so I can run say windows 98se in a window. (THAT WOULD BE AWESOME!) Of course, I'm really going to need a decent speed/ram equipped pc to do that. Its 189.00$ but I think it would be worth it for the ability to run windows 98 or win2000 in a linux window. That would just be cool, and solve any emulator problems for sure.











nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2008, 04:34:24 am »
I'm still stuck in dial up, and worse yet, AOL

My condolences. To see if wine is installed, just run command "wine" in a terminal. If installed, it will display a brief usage note.

If you need to download it, find it here: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/testing/emulators/wine-1.0rc1-i586-1vl59.tlz

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2008, 04:47:19 am »
Actually, RC2 is out ;)

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2008, 06:34:26 am »
Actually, I think I misphrased that.... RC2 is out, but needs to get packaged for VL :(

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2008, 08:19:27 am »
Someone did, that is a live link  ;D

budulay

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 568
  • NewComer
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2008, 08:21:19 am »
actually, it was already packaged by KC1DI
VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2008, 08:39:05 am »
OK.. I just got posted, because I clicked on the link earlier, and it returned a 404..

The good thing is... We've got RC2 ;)

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2008, 08:40:59 am »
Don'tcha just hate it when links are posted before all the package moving is done :D

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: WINE and vectorlinux 5.9 deluxe.
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2008, 09:48:39 pm »
haywire,

Before you pay all that money for VMWare Workstation, try QEMU or VirtualBox, which don't cost anything.

I have Win 98SE installed in QEMU under VL 5.9 and it works well.
--GrannyGeek
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller