VectorLinux
July 27, 2014, 10:06:09 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless Connection Problem  (Read 7215 times)
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2008, 09:38:47 am »

Honestly, I am not sure, I just received this old laptop a few weeks ago from a friend, and installed Vector on it  - how would one find out?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2008, 04:28:14 pm »

I have check the toshiba website and it seem your portege 4000 come with a build in wireless card...

http://resource.toshiba-europe.com/europe/computers/flyers/portege/Portege4000_ProductDataSheet_10_2001_E.pdf
http://resource.toshiba-europe.com/europe/computers/brochures/Portege4000_Concept_10_2001_E.pdf

Did you try to configure the wireless using VASM like I say?
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2008, 04:45:08 pm »

Given the output of lspcmcia, you have a wireless interface. You should be using the orinoco module only, or the ndiswrapper module, but not both. Your lsmod shows both modules inserted in the kernel. The orinoco driver works flawlessly  here, so I would try removing the ndiswrapper module and then the usual commands at cli.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2008, 06:36:29 pm »

I removed ndiswrapper, however when I use VASM wireless it continues to ask me to use ndiswrapper to insert a windows driver. Is there another way I can connect to my wireless network that doesn't prompt me to use ndiswrapper?
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2008, 06:47:16 pm »

I removed ndiswrapper, however when I use VASM wireless it continues to ask me to use ndiswrapper to insert a windows driver. Is there another way I can connect to my wireless network that doesn't prompt me to use ndiswrapper?

yes, be sure the ndiswrapper module is not there with lsmod, and be sure the orinoco module is there.
Then as root,

Code:
ifconfig eth0 up

If you get no feedback we are ok. Then:

Code:
iwlist eth0 scan

Will give you a list of available networks with an essid. Then

Code:
iwconfig eth0 essid your_essid_here

And last:

Code:
dhcpcd eth0

Note the device name could be different in your sys if you have another network device, like eth1.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2008, 07:03:43 pm »

I used gslapt to remove ndiswrapper, however it still remains as I look at lsmod -- any ideas?
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2276


« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2008, 07:06:44 pm »

try modprobe -r ndiswrapper as root
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #22 on: May 29, 2008, 07:07:51 pm »

if now you use VASM to set up your wireless, does it ask for the ndiswrapper driver again?
Logged
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #23 on: May 29, 2008, 07:14:42 pm »

if now you use VASM to set up your wireless, does it ask for the ndiswrapper driver again?

Yes - It asks me to use ndiswrapper again - any advice?
Logged
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #24 on: May 29, 2008, 07:16:09 pm »

I removed ndiswrapper, however when I use VASM wireless it continues to ask me to use ndiswrapper to insert a windows driver. Is there another way I can connect to my wireless network that doesn't prompt me to use ndiswrapper?

yes, be sure the ndiswrapper module is not there with lsmod, and be sure the orinoco module is there.
Then as root,

Code:
ifconfig eth0 up

If you get no feedback we are ok. Then:

Code:
iwlist eth0 scan

Will give you a list of available networks with an essid. Then

Code:
iwconfig eth0 essid your_essid_here

And last:

Code:
dhcpcd eth0

Note the device name could be different in your sys if you have another network device, like eth1.


After I enteriwlist eth1 scan - I get "no scan results"
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2008, 07:23:00 pm »

try modprobe -r ndiswrapper as root

pls post your lsmod again......
Logged
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #26 on: May 29, 2008, 07:28:42 pm »

try modprobe -r ndiswrapper as root

pls post your lsmod again......

root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ieee80211              31560  0
ieee80211_crypt         5504  1 ieee80211
acpi_cpufreq            7880  0
freq_table              4768  1 acpi_cpufreq
toshiba                 4632  0
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            32128  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7168  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48720  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7692  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            38048  0
snd_mixer_oss          15232  1 snd_pcm_oss
orinoco_cs             14596  1
orinoco                39060  1 orinoco_cs
hermes                  7168  2 orinoco_cs,orinoco
serio_raw               6276  0
eepro100               27664  0
snd_ali5451            20108  2
snd_ac97_codec         98084  1 snd_ali5451
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69764  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19972  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    45796  14 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_ali5451,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  1 snd_pcm
mii                     5504  1 eepro100
ali_agp                 6400  1
agpgart                28108  1 ali_agp
i2c_ali1535             6916  0
i2c_ali15x3             7556  0
i2c_core               20992  2 i2c_ali1535,i2c_ali15x3
shpchp                 30228  0
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
evdev                   8704  0
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #27 on: May 29, 2008, 07:32:43 pm »

how about your ifconfig and iwconfig?
Logged
ng234
Member
*
Posts: 16


« Reply #28 on: May 29, 2008, 07:37:12 pm »

how about your ifconfig and iwconfig?

root:# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:39:3B:A0:A2 
          inet addr:192.168.1.103  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:445 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:469 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:449031 (438.5 KiB)  TX bytes:134627 (131.4 KiB)
          Interrupt:11

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:02:2D:26:EB:D1 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0x180

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:5616 (5.4 KiB)  TX bytes:5616 (5.4 KiB)

root:# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:"linksys"  Nickname:"HERMES I"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: None   
          Bit Rate:2 Mb/s   Sensitivity:1/3 
          Retry limit:4   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=0/92  Signal level=134/153  Noise level=134/153
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #29 on: May 29, 2008, 07:45:14 pm »

ok...i think the orinoco driver is loaded. open VASM as root, go to NETWORK -> WIRELESS -> INTERFACE. Key in the info and then ADD a wireless connection. Then CONNECT to that wireless connection.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!