Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: swap priority -1  (Read 2030 times)

FuturDreamz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
swap priority -1
« on: May 30, 2008, 07:46:11 pm »
hello.
basically I missed setting /dev/hda2 as swap upon installation, trying to do it now.
I tried, following instructions online:
mkswap /dev/hda2
swapon /dev/hda2
and adding to /etc/fstab:
/dev/hdb2               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
rebooted, and swap is not used. at all.
swapon -s reveals that the priority is set to -1, tried using swapon to fix, no dice.
help?

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2008, 08:01:47 pm »
According to this you have a problem:

swapon /dev/hda2

/dev/hdb2               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0

Fix that and you should be good to go.

Bigpaws

FuturDreamz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2008, 08:10:27 pm »
"no such file or directory"

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2008, 08:17:17 pm »
You have the wrong directory listed in fstab

Bigpaws

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2008, 04:06:56 am »
As Bigpaws indicated, if the command swapon /dev/hda2 works, your fstab line must also point to hda2, not hdb2

FuturDreamz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2008, 06:43:00 am »
when I have it set to hda2, it is seen in swapon -s, but it is not used, and the priority is set to a negative, and some research indicates that a negative prioity= error.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2008, 07:03:51 am »
According to this, a negative number is assigned by the kernel:
http://lists.debian.org/debian-user/2002/09/msg01075.html

Looking at my own system, "swapon -s" shows a -1 priority. "Used" shows 0, but that is normal. Only when I push my system hard and for a long time, do I ever use swap. Hint: run "htop" in a terminal to watch CPU/swap usage.

FuturDreamz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2008, 07:10:15 am »
so if I half the ram swap will be used?

Dweeberkitty

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
    • Multimedia Bonus Disc
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2008, 07:12:30 am »
so if I half the ram swap will be used?

Probably but I wouldn't recommend it. Swap is much slower than RAM.
Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/

FuturDreamz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: swap priority -1
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2008, 07:23:16 am »
I'll be switching it back now, just wanted to confirm swap working, which it is.

thanks.

seems to run perfectly fine with only 128mb tho.