VectorLinux
October 02, 2014, 06:12:12 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Updating Firefox 2 to Firefox 3?  (Read 1362 times)
fightingspirit
Member
*
Posts: 27


« on: July 11, 2008, 02:36:03 pm »

I just installed Vector Linux for the first time last night and I am now having trouble updating Firefox.

I read through some threads here, and basically the information I gathered tells me that I had to enable the testing repositories and download through slapt-get or gslapt. I did that but Gslapt doesn't display any Firefox 3 repository and slapt-get just gives me an error that 'mozilla-firefox-3.0' doesn't exist.

Am I doing something wrong? I am currently on Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 04:17:49 pm »

if your using 5.9 Std. in a terminal Su <root Passwrd> slapt-get -i mozilla-firefox
that will do it..
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2008, 07:58:44 pm »

If you just installed VectorLinux, why did you pick 5.8 SOHO? 5.9 is now out.

I'd guess Firefox 3 isn't in a repository for VL 5.8. I'm using 5.9 Standard and had no trouble upgrading to Firefox 3 with Gslapt.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2008, 01:50:47 am »

Sorry Missed the fact you were using 5.8 SOHO.. I don't think you will be able to upgrade to FF 3.0 from the repositories in 5.8  But you could always download and install it from Firefox web sight.

Granny is right about upgrading to 5.9 you should consider that alternative also.

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
fightingspirit
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2008, 07:47:38 am »

Ah, I was afraid you'd say something like that  Cry
I'm not to happy about having to redo everything over again, but I guess I'll go and install 5.9.
Thanks for the help.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2008, 08:17:09 am »

You will like 5.9 it's a great release.
let us know how you make out .

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
fightingspirit
Member
*
Posts: 27


« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2008, 03:47:31 pm »

You will like 5.9 it's a great release.
let us know how you make out .



Yes, I updated to 5.9 and I'm VERY impressed at how much better it is (it was great to start out with)... It even had fluxbox at the start so I never had to go out of my way to install it! Everything went out without a hitch, and I even got my wireless card to work in just a few minutes, compared to the hours it took for me to get it on 5.8. It was a good thing that I followed your advice in updating. Thanks a lot.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!