VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: Out of curiosity...  (Read 11732 times)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2008, 10:23:27 am »

A couple of notes here...

the compiz-fusion is a metapackage that will isntall all the necessary things to run compiz.

Also, make sure your 3D rendering is OK
Code: [Select]
glxinfo | grep renderOne final note, take a look at this thread
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=6502.msg44480#msg44480
You may need to do the same thing I suggested there

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #16 on: June 04, 2008, 04:14:01 pm »

Before I try Moe-Inx's suggestion ....Here is what happened.
Because I couldn't get compiz working with the first installation,
I removed it with Gslapt PM and since then I'm in trouble.  :'(
I think the window manager (Xfce) is totally screwed up. Restart without the compiz package installed didn't help.
If somebody has a thought or can help me, please look HERE where I uploaded the details. ???
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #17 on: June 04, 2008, 04:53:56 pm »

That screenshot you posted...  is that after removing compiz-fuzion with glsapt?  Or is it installed?
Logged

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2008, 04:58:24 pm »

Curious..did you right click and quit compiz-fusion befor you uninstalled?...I had this no window on programs when compiz-fusion was running but I quit via the icon, log out and back in and then uninstalled and removed orbit and lib wnck manually. all seems normal although disappointing
I wonder if you could reinstall, launch the icon, rightclick and quit and then log out and back in..

I had issue logging out when compiz was running...can you log out?

« Last Edit: June 04, 2008, 05:07:49 pm by overthere »
Logged
Everything Is Relative

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2008, 05:01:52 pm »

That screenshot you posted...  is that after removing compiz-fuzion with glsapt?  Or is it installed?
Thanks for asking, sorry if I didn't mention it...
yes, it is after removing compiz-fusion.
The computer is still in this condition and I could provide other information, if you tell me what would be of interest...
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #20 on: June 04, 2008, 05:08:57 pm »

Curious..did you right click and quit compiz-fusion befor you uninstalled?...I had this no window on programs when compiz-fusion was running but I quit via the icon and then uninstalled and removed orbit and lib wnck manually. all seems normal although disappointing
I'm not sure if I right-clicked before uninstall....I don't think so...
BTW, are orbit2 and libwnk dependencies which came with compiz?
I didn't remove them yet...should I?
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #21 on: June 04, 2008, 05:09:17 pm »

to fix that, all you need to do is open a terminal and execute
Code: [Select]
xfwm4 &That will give you your window decorations back

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #22 on: June 04, 2008, 05:17:47 pm »

Quote
BTW, are orbit2 and libwnk dependencies which came with compiz?
when I installed it downloaded and installed orbit, libwnck and compiz-fusion...after clicking execute a dialog will list what is to be downloaded if you click the little triangle in the dialog window befor clicking ok for the downloads to start.
I do not know if it is nessessary but uninstall removed only compiz-fusion and I found orbit and libwcnk in /usr/x11 and deleted them as they came with..
hope that helps


« Last Edit: June 04, 2008, 05:20:11 pm by overthere »
Logged
Everything Is Relative

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #23 on: June 04, 2008, 09:24:50 pm »

to fix that, all you need to do is open a terminal and execute
Code: [Select]
xfwm4 &That will give you your window decorations back
OK, Thanks Moe-Inx, that helped big time....I'm back to normal...
Now I wonder how I should proceed with compiz-fusion...
Are there special video drivers needed?
The system profile tells me that I have a
"VGA compatible Contoller VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 {S3 unichrome} Intergrated Video".
BTW, Screensaver works just fine.
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2008, 02:07:39 am »

A couple of notes here...
Also, make sure your 3D rendering is OK
Code: [Select]
glxinfo | grep render
@ MOE-Inx:
when I run the command you suggested I get this:
Quote
root:# glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose)
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
vector://
Now I'm lost again....
What does this mean?
Where do I have to do "setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose"?

EDIT for more info:
This is the Graphic device section in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Quote
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VESA Framebuffer"
    Driver      "fbdev"
    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

As I mentioned above the System profile tells me that I have a
"VGA compatible Contoller VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 {S3 unichrome} Intergrated Video".
I'm not sure if fbdev is the correct driver.
BTW, Screensaver works just fine.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2008, 02:27:16 am by Cariboo »
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1356
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #25 on: June 05, 2008, 03:32:18 am »

Quote
BTW, Screensaver works just fine.

The reason I mentioned the opengl screensavers is that I have an issue with them and the tuxracer game on my ragepro 128 card and thought this would give some indication regarding other opengl programs like copiz-fusion.
I installed anyway and although it did not work I have some familiarity with the settings. this may have been misleading and so I appologize cariboo if that is the case. It was speculation at best in an attemp to be helpfull.
 My current understanding is that compiz-fusion is a bit buggy and works best on more than 256 megs ram, nvidia cards and a faster processor than I am currently playing with. and should be turned off before uninstalling..
cheers
Logged
Everything Is Relative

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #26 on: June 05, 2008, 04:26:00 am »

Quote
"VGA compatible Contoller VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 {S3 unichrome} Intergrated Video".

You may as well give up on Compiz-fusion right now.  :-[

VIA hasn't handed over the source code for this chipset, and the OpenChrome guys haven't gotten 3D  working for it either.  The Vesa driver is the correct choice for that card.  Although, you won't be able to get performance out of it.  I tried for a week trying to get that chipset working on my mother inlaw's VL laptop.

Has nothing to do with Linux, or VL. VIA isn't being very kind to us.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2008, 04:37:59 am »

@ Cariboo

Sorry buddy... looks like no compiz for you. I have never owned anything with that kind of video chip, but that output does not look good.

FWIW, I do own box with an intel chip, where I'm unable to get 3d rendering to work, and also have the same situation at work, where glxinfo says to set that variable... Never been able to get working... I rebuilt Mesa trying to get it fixed, and that accomplished nothing...

My condolences to you dude.... but that does not look good.

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #28 on: June 05, 2008, 03:51:59 pm »

@ Cariboo
Sorry buddy... looks like no compiz for you. I have never owned anything with that kind of video chip, but that output does not look good.
My condolences to you dude.... but that does not look good.
Quote
"VGA compatible Contoller VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 {S3 unichrome} Intergrated Video".
You may as well give up on Compiz-fusion right now.  :-[

If I could count on your patience to help me I won't give up yet......
I want to proof that together we can make it ....
I found this in the Ubuntu Forums HERE and I want to try again....
There must be a "via" driver be around because it is used in 'narr's ' xorg.conf:
Quote
Section "Device"
   Identifier   "VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [S3 UniChrome] Integrated Video"
   Driver      "via"
   Option "VBEModes" "true"
   Option "DisableIRQ"
   Option "EnableAGPDMA"
   BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
Do you know about that?
Where could I find this driver?
Even if the performance wouldn't be that great, it could be I nice feature to spread the word about VL's capacity. ::)
Logged
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3237
Re: Out of curiosity...
« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2008, 04:30:58 pm »

i'm impressed by your determination. I will do some more research tomorrow. If it can be done in other distros it can certainly be done in vector
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4