VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Poll

How can I execute "pppoe-start/ stop" as user?

pppoe-start as user
- 0 (0%)
pppoe-stop as user
- 0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0


Author Topic: Internet Connection  (Read 2835 times)

wibedo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Internet Connection
« on: June 05, 2008, 12:23:13 pm »

I use the Internet with a DSL-Modem and cable.
PPPOE-setup as root is done.
How can I execute the "pppoe-start" and "pppoe-stop" as user, without the root-password?
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 12:43:05 pm »

Change the permissions on pppoe-start and pppoe-stop.

You could also change the group.

PPPOE is not setup for users to access since it is a security
issue for the computer.

Users should not have access to system wide components.
Hence part of the separation of users and administrators.

Bigpaws
Logged

wibedo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2008, 11:29:03 am »

Hi bigpaws,

I have obeyed your council. But it does not function. In the file Pppoe start stands:
if [\ " `/usr/bin/id-u ` \ "! = 0]; then
$ECHO \ "$ME : You must be root to run this script \"> and 2
exit 1
fi

If I the command as a user explains, nothing at all happens. In the terminal comes the announcement: "You must be root."
How can I change the UID?
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2008, 12:03:04 pm »

I believe you are in the wrong file.

What is the location of this file?

You should only have to chmod the file to a group that you are in.

Bigpaws
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 03:42:13 pm »

I use the Internet with a DSL-Modem and cable.
PPPOE-setup as root is done.
How can I execute the "pppoe-start" and "pppoe-stop" as user, without the root-password?

hi, may i know how you did this? i am planning to subscribe in a DSL service also.. thanks :)
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2008, 06:51:00 pm »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws
Logged

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2008, 07:42:43 pm »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws

that's all? i will try the config when i got home.. hmm quite similar to zenwalk's ppp connection. . .

thanks :)
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD

icedtea

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Internet Connection
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2008, 03:16:39 am »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws

just tried what you have said .. though i Dont have any DSL modem nor subs yet. .


here's the output :

Quote
[root@vector~]# pppoe-setup
-su: pppoe-setup: command not found
[root@vector~]# pppoe
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: Timeout waiting for PADO packets


1. im just using dialup
2. have not configured my NIC yet (if it has to )

but y does the command not accessible?

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1132 (1.1 Kb)  TX bytes:1132 (1.1 Kb)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:203.215.124.244  P-t-P:202.78.97.139  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:11426 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12105 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:6804223 (6.4 Mb)  TX bytes:2836505 (2.7 Mb)
« Last Edit: November 05, 2008, 03:48:51 am by icedtea »
Logged
using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD