VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 08:36:25 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Poll
Question: How can I execute "pppoe-start/ stop" as user?
pppoe-start as user - 0 (0%)
pppoe-stop as user - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet Connection  (Read 2477 times)
wibedo
Member
*
Posts: 6


« on: June 05, 2008, 11:23:13 am »

I use the Internet with a DSL-Modem and cable.
PPPOE-setup as root is done.
How can I execute the "pppoe-start" and "pppoe-stop" as user, without the root-password?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 11:43:05 am »

Change the permissions on pppoe-start and pppoe-stop.

You could also change the group.

PPPOE is not setup for users to access since it is a security
issue for the computer.

Users should not have access to system wide components.
Hence part of the separation of users and administrators.

Bigpaws
Logged
wibedo
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2008, 10:29:03 am »

Hi bigpaws,

I have obeyed your council. But it does not function. In the file Pppoe start stands:
if [\ " `/usr/bin/id-u ` \ "! = 0]; then
$ECHO \ "$ME : You must be root to run this script \"> and 2
exit 1
fi

If I the command as a user explains, nothing at all happens. In the terminal comes the announcement: "You must be root."
How can I change the UID?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2008, 11:03:04 am »

I believe you are in the wrong file.

What is the location of this file?

You should only have to chmod the file to a group that you are in.

Bigpaws
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 03:42:13 pm »

I use the Internet with a DSL-Modem and cable.
PPPOE-setup as root is done.
How can I execute the "pppoe-start" and "pppoe-stop" as user, without the root-password?

hi, may i know how you did this? i am planning to subscribe in a DSL service also.. thanks Smiley
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1847


« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2008, 06:51:00 pm »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws
Logged
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2008, 07:42:43 pm »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws

that's all? i will try the config when i got home.. hmm quite similar to zenwalk's ppp connection. . .

thanks Smiley
Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
icedtea
Vectorite
***
Posts: 142



« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2008, 03:16:39 am »

Open a terminal (console) as root type: pppoe-setup

Answer the questions and you should be good to go.

Using pppoe is designed for root use (as far as setup, start and stop)
since it has a system wide effect.

Bigpaws

just tried what you have said .. though i Dont have any DSL modem nor subs yet. .


here's the output :

Quote
[root@vector~]# pppoe-setup
-su: pppoe-setup: command not found
[root@vector~]# pppoe
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: send (sendPacket): Network is down
pppoe: Timeout waiting for PADO packets


1. im just using dialup
2. have not configured my NIC yet (if it has to )

but y does the command not accessible?

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:17 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1132 (1.1 Kb)  TX bytes:1132 (1.1 Kb)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
          inet addr:203.215.124.244  P-t-P:202.78.97.139  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:11426 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12105 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:6804223 (6.4 Mb)  TX bytes:2836505 (2.7 Mb)
« Last Edit: November 05, 2008, 03:48:51 am by icedtea » Logged

using VL 5.1 SOHO , 5.8 GOLD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!