Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Now for the sound...  (Read 1490 times)

thunderheights

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Now for the sound...
« on: June 04, 2008, 04:16:07 pm »
VL Light recognizes my sound card...
I setup sound on my system...(I thought, apparently not) :)
I can't get sound to work...
It worls in Windows...It worked in Puppy and Damn Small Linux...
Is there something...somewhere...I need to edit?
All help appreciated!
Vector Linux 6.0   Laptop
2 GB RAM/1.9 GHz AMD Athlon X2 64/120GB HD dual booting w/ Win Vista
Vector Linux 5.9 Lite Desktop
64 MB RAM/ 754.36 MHz AMD Duron /30GB HD, (1/2 of which I'm sharing with Win XP)

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 04:24:29 pm »
Play a music CD or mp3 fle using whatever software you like. Open a terminal and type "alsamixer" and using your up and down cursor keys move the sliders until you get sound. Use the "m" ke yto mute and unmute channels if still no sound.
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

thunderheights

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2008, 04:57:36 pm »
Thanks!

a little embarassed...I just didn't have the sound turned up loud enough  :-[
Vector Linux 6.0   Laptop
2 GB RAM/1.9 GHz AMD Athlon X2 64/120GB HD dual booting w/ Win Vista
Vector Linux 5.9 Lite Desktop
64 MB RAM/ 754.36 MHz AMD Duron /30GB HD, (1/2 of which I'm sharing with Win XP)

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2008, 05:57:14 pm »
Don't be. Most of us have been there.

ultrasonicsite

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2008, 11:29:48 am »
I wonder why my sound always defaults to 0% sound + mute every time I start Vector-Linux.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2008, 05:43:55 am »
Could it be you have a "Saved Session" for your desktop with the sound muted?

ultrasonicsite

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2008, 11:25:08 am »
Actually, I haven't saved any sessions, perhaps I should just boot the computer, turn the volume on, click on save session, log out, log back in, log back out without the 'save session', and then log back in one more time =P

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Now for the sound...
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2008, 11:31:47 am »
As root open a terminal use alsmixer set the volumne, the use
alsactl store.

That will keep the settings on reboot.

Bigpaws