VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 12:31:09 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
Author Topic: [BREAKTHROUGH!][Read 1st Post] I need to get 16-bit to work! [i810][DRI][Crash]  (Read 10954 times)
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2008, 01:46:04 pm »

What is your bit-depth set to?
16-bit
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2008, 02:05:39 pm »

/var/log/Xorg.0.log Warnings
Code:
(WW) intel(0): DRI is disabled because it runs only at 16-bit depth.

(WW) intel(0): xf86AllocateGARTMemory: allocation of 1024 pages failed

(WW) intel(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: binding of gart memory with key 1
at offset 0x4000000 failed (Invalid argument)

(WW) intel(0): xf86BindGARTMemory: binding of gart memory with key 2
at offset 0x4000000 failed (Invalid argument)

(WW) intel(0): Direct rendering disabled

(WW) intel(0): Option "UseEdidFreqs" is not used

(WW) Option "XkbModel" requires an string value

(WW) Option "XkbVariant" requires an string value
Logged
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2008, 02:38:04 pm »

I may have found the answer! And no need to recompile the kernel! Edit the lilo file and add

Code:
vga=normal
under append= list and then in the terminal run lilo, and then reboot. Might work, let's see! Cross your fingers you!
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2008, 03:02:14 pm »

Forgive me as I'm only skimming but your depth is currently 24 bit according to your xorg.conf you posted:
Quote
DefaultDepth 24
Just change that to 16 if you're needing 16 bit.
Or just tell me to jump in a lake if I've misunderstood. Cheesy
Logged
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #19 on: June 09, 2008, 03:44:57 pm »

16 bit crashes on load. I want 16 bit. I need 16 bit. 16 bit is being mean and crashing =(

Someone said it  may have been that the framebuffer is using the 16-bit, I added vga=normal to the lilo file. (Not after append =, it wont work, but as it's own option) And I think it doesn't load framebuffer. But 16 bit still crashes. Whyyyy!

For example: startx makes the screen glitch with colorful colors and stripes and random nonsense. It basically freezes.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2008, 03:47:11 pm by ultrasonicsite » Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #20 on: June 09, 2008, 04:26:52 pm »

I may have found the answer! And no need to recompile the kernel! Edit the lilo file and add

Code:
vga=normal
under append= list and then in the terminal run lilo, and then reboot. Might work, let's see! Cross your fingers you!
Which lilo file are you talking about? /etc/lilo.conf?
if so, under which 'append =' should I add that line?
did it work for you?
Thanks in advance.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2008, 04:47:10 pm »

Yes that lilo file, but for me it didn't help. If you want to try, don't add it to append, just make a new line and type vga=normal. The newest version of lilo wont let you add that to append = "blahblahblah"
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2008, 04:58:14 pm »

Yes that lilo file, but for me it didn't help. If you want to try, don't add it to append, just make a new line and type vga=normal. The newest version of lilo wont let you add that to append = "blahblahblah"

did you run "lilo -v" as root after modify your lilo.conf?
Logged
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #23 on: June 09, 2008, 05:00:02 pm »

I failed to mention in the post above - I have 3 'append=' in my /etc/lilo.conf. under which should I add it?
Also I have this line commented out at the begging of /etc/lilo.conf
and also a question: what this line do?
thanks a lot. 
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #24 on: June 09, 2008, 06:44:02 pm »

Try changing Driver "i810" to Driver "vesa" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and see what happens.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
budulay
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 568


NewComer


« Reply #25 on: June 09, 2008, 08:37:55 pm »

I did a bit of googling and it seems like nobody with my good old Neomagic MagicGraph 256AV [NM2200] have DRI.
I saw a littlebit about recompiling kernel. Seems like that's pretty hard and time consuming.
So here comes the question:
Could it be managed by semy-noob like me?
And if so, will the result worth it?
Thanks a lot.
Logged

VL6.0-Light@MSI MS-1652(AMD TurionX2 ZM-84 2300 MHZ, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, Nvidia GForce 9600M GT, GIGABYTE AirCruiser N300)
Registered Linux user #473602
SlackBuild Repository for VL7.Not much but it's a start. Join in!
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #26 on: June 14, 2008, 10:54:13 am »

I'll try what you guys suggested, I hope vesa works!

Compiling isn't too hard as long as you have a good speedy computer, and have all the requirements to compile. And know what parameters to pass.
Logged
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #27 on: June 14, 2008, 11:05:12 am »

16 bit vesa didn't work either, what was displayed was something like when you're watching tv, but the signal isn't strong enough so its just a scrambled mess flying around.

24 bit vesa is just a black screen.
Logged
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2008, 11:37:14 am »

According to http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/DriTroubleshooting , there's a chance my card isn't getting 'probed', whatever that means, I'll have to see how to fix this.
Logged
ultrasonicsite
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 107


« Reply #29 on: June 14, 2008, 11:39:20 am »

I'll download the latest DRM CVS sources, and go from there.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!