VectorLinux
November 22, 2014, 03:38:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation problem  (Read 2782 times)
Lloyd

« on: June 13, 2008, 12:03:06 am »

Hi,
 I am new to Vector Linux. I am trying to install VectorLinux-5.9-Standard-GOLD on a Toshiba satellite 490XCDT laptop (9 or 10 years old ) with 94MB RAM and 4GB hard disk. I have downloade the CD image and cross verified the md5 checksum given in the website and it is correct. During installation I made a ext2 partition  with 3GB size. Installation was successful in copying the file "veclinux.tlz" to the hard disk. But after that it shows me an error unable to uncompress the file, may be there is no enough disk space or the file could be corrupted. Then it has shown installation is in unknoiwn state and gave me a shell.

What could be the reason? How can I overcome this?

Thank you very much,
  Lloyd
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2008, 07:04:37 am »

A full installation of Vector LInux 5.9 Standard will eat every bit of that 3GHz and then some.  128MB is the minimun recommended RAM.  It will run in 96MB but with your slow processor I don't think it will be much fun to use.   I don't think any of that is the problem but I'm not sure Standard is the right version of Vector Linux for you.   Your system is a much better candidate for Vector Linux Light.