VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 06:52:54 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation fails at xorg config.....  (Read 1924 times)
moonshinerat
Member
*
Posts: 6


« on: June 15, 2008, 05:30:01 am »

Hi guys,

I am trying to install Vector Standard 5.9 from CD and all goes well until just the Xorg configuration. It asks me what resolution I would like (I have a Samsung 920nw 1440x900 on Intel 82945 GMA 950) so I obviously tried 1440x900. The screen goes blank and that's it. So I've tried to reinstall........ two more times with 1024x768 and VL mode and I am still getting the same results. Slackware 12.1 was a bugger to get working properly (had to write the whole of my xorg by hand) and I just wanted Vector to work as a stable 'haven't-bodged-it-together-myself' workstation.

Trying to repair or just booting up from Lilo just results in a system hang as well but I still have Fedora 8 and Slackware 12.1 running on this machine without a problem. Do I need to reinstall or has Vector installed enough at this point, and if so how do I get into Vector and which drivers do I use for optimal performance? I want my graphics working as quickly as possible because even with Fedora 8 my windows leave a trail behind and sometimes mplayer stumbles. I have a Core2Duo E4400 with 2Gig of ram so this shouldn't be an issue, I hope.

Thanks all.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 06:36:12 am »

recommend to choose the lowest display setting.....then try again....
Logged
moonshinerat
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 01:25:56 pm »

Okay, thanks for that.

Still a bit confused though. I now have VL up and running, very nice it is too. In fact Fed9 is about to get wiped off to store my VL data on.

What I'm confused with is that I seem to have the resolution I need (1440x900, not sure the fonts are a bit fuzzy) but it isn't listed in the settings selection for the display. I've got a huge list of other resolutions and none of them are 1440x900. How do I find out what resolution I'm in?

Also sometimes the window refresh isn't very quick. Xubuntu doesn't seem to have this lag on a Pentium 3. Any way of finding out why the lag is there and how to get rid of it?

Sorry to ask all these questions but I'm only just starting with Vector and I want to stay with it...
Logged
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2008, 02:44:53 pm »

Can we get some more information on the system? Video card information can help.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2008, 05:19:45 pm »

check your /etc/X11/xorg.conf setting.........it will show what resolution you are having...
Logged
moonshinerat
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2008, 10:22:50 am »

Sorry about the delay in replying.

The video card is onboard Intel 82945G (GMA950) graphics. My xorg.conf is a mess and has got 13 different resolutions available with none set as default. To be honest I have tried viewing a 1440x900 image full screen and I think I'm running at the right resolution, but I can't understand why this resolution is not shown in the settings, or in xorg.conf - just weird.

The refresh times have actually improved somehow (thought it was just me but my wife agrees and I'm not one to disagree with her) but my fonts are still a little fuzzy. I'm happy to live with that unless someone else would like to contribute a bit of optimisation for the Intel gear and font rendering.

Vector is just great, but why have they taken the lampp packages out of the repos for 5.9 standard?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3259


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2008, 05:22:56 pm »

pls post your xorg.conf and if can attached the screenshot of the fuzzy font too.. Tongue
Logged
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #7 on: June 16, 2008, 06:24:33 pm »

yes, please post your xorg.conf . I think the screenshot might be optional though
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2008, 11:04:45 am »

If your video is working 100% properly in Slackware 12.1 you could just copy the xorg.conf file into /etc/X11 in your Vectr Linux install.  It should work just fine. 
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Sivatheja
Vectorite
***
Posts: 156



WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2008, 06:45:47 pm »

FYI

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5418.msg37062#msg37062

Sivatheja.
Logged

Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!