VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: does vl support dual core..  (Read 1731 times)

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
does vl support dual core..
« on: June 17, 2008, 12:08:17 am »

hi, the topic already reveals my question...

i am about to buy a new pc. (old one is broken for good)
does vl (especially 5.8 soho) support dual core technology.
or in general, what have i to do to exploit this feature in a box...

heres the link to the box..


https://www.csl-computer.com/shop/product_info.php?products_id=1517&cPath=5_39&et_cid=13&et_lid=87606&et_sub=Editorial_Speed_4134&utm_source=Newsletter_20080617_b&utm_medium=email&utm_content=Editorial_Speed_4134&utm_campaign=20080617_b_Editorial_Speed_4134

greets günter
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 03:50:50 am »

I'm Not sure about 5.8 SOHO but the new 5.9 SOHO does.  it's well worth the money.
you can view the info at the Vector Store http://vector2.ecosq.com/


Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2008, 05:35:59 am »

My 5.8 SOHO happily uses both cores on my machine.   ;D
Logged

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2008, 08:52:25 am »

Yes.
VectorLinux (5.8 and up, for sure) uses a multi-core compatible kernel by default. This is because the same kernel will work on single core processors as well as a dual core.
I have been running VectorLinux on my dual core AMD for a few years solid, and have no problems.

I will agree that the new SOHO 5.9 would be the better way to go, because of a security fix that is built into the newer kernels (there is module fix for the older kernel found elsewhere on this forum), as well as many other improvements.
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2008, 09:47:05 am »

Another good reason for choosing 5.9 is that the repo is much more up to date and still maintained.
Logged

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2008, 11:12:42 pm »

okay folks...thanks

i see now, that even 5.8 supports dual core :-)
tried an install yesterday..works...fine

greets günter
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2876
    • The Linux Works
Re: does vl support dual core..
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2008, 09:06:56 pm »

You may also want to check out VL64 since your processors are 64-bit.  It's currently at Beta2 and most reports I've heard so far are good.  Sadly my only 64-bit machine died and until I get a new one (soon now, I hope) I won't be able to use it.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1