VectorLinux
August 22, 2014, 09:15:34 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Please put lyx on 5.9 standard (Solved)  (Read 3212 times)
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1421



« on: June 26, 2008, 10:54:58 pm »

I think it was on 5.8 and I am trying to switch to 5.9.  In any event, I need lyx and lyx, I believe, needs latex.

Thx

John
« Last Edit: June 30, 2008, 11:36:41 pm by sledgehammer » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2008, 11:10:07 pm »

I have packaged lyx-1.5.5 for VL59. But then it require Qt4 and there is a qt4-4.3.2 available at VL repo. I have PM exeterdad to upload the package to VL repo asap. But if you cannot wait you can try manually install it from below link.......remember to install qt4 first....You can get it either using gslapt or slapt-get.

http://www.4shared.com/dir/1989943/22a9db85/VL59_packages.html

PS: I package lyx with out tetex. I believe there is a tetex package at the VL repo. Pls try if it have any problem with it... Tongue
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 03:34:32 am »

I have packaged lyx-1.5.5 for VL59. But then it require Qt4 and there is a qt4-4.3.2 available at VL repo. I have PM exeterdad to upload the package to VL repo asap. But if you cannot wait you can try manually install it from below link.......remember to install qt4 first....You can get it either using gslapt or slapt-get.

http://www.4shared.com/dir/1989943/22a9db85/VL59_packages.html

PS: I package lyx with out tetex. I believe there is a tetex package at the VL repo. Pls try if it have any problem with it... Tongue
congrates hata_ph - I was trying to build this one and kept getting a make error asking for qt4-dev even though I had qt4 installed. Which I never could seem to resolve.. how did you do that?  just would like to know for future reference.
Dave Smiley
« Last Edit: June 28, 2008, 03:44:07 am by kc1di » Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2008, 07:46:37 am »

Thanks........
I just install qt4-4.3.2 from Vl repo and run the .SlackBuild.....I will attached the SlackBuild for you to see....

Quote
#!/usr/bin/bash
# This script assumes it will be launched within "/NAME/VERSION/src" dir.
# With all sources in "src" Your Vector Linux .tlz package, slack-desc,
# and slack-required will be found in "VERSION" dir. The extraction and
# build will be in a temp dir created in "NAME" dir, and then removed on exit.
# Comment out second to last line to keep this dir intact.


NAME="lyx"            #Enter package Name!
VERSION=${VERSION:-"1.5.5"}      #Enter package Version!
VL_PACKAGER=${VL_PACKAGER:-"hata_ph"}   #Enter your Name!


#SYSTEM VARIABLES
#----------------------------------------------------------------------------
BUILDNUM=${BUILDNUM:-"1"}
VL_VERSION=${VL_VERSION:-"$(ls /var/log/packages/|grep vlconfig2|cut -d "-" -f4|cut -c 2-5)"}
BUILD=${BUILD:-"$BUILDNUM""$VL_VERSION"}
ARCH=${ARCH:-$(uname -m)}
CONFIG_OPTIONS=${CONFIG_OPTIONS:-""}
LDFLAG_OPTIONS=${LDFLAG_OPTIONS:-""}
#----------------------------------------------------------------------------


#SETUP PACKAGING ENVIRONMENT
#--------------------------------------------
CWD=$(pwd)
cd ../
RELEASEDIR=$(pwd)
cd $CWD
mkdir -p $RELEASEDIR/tmp
TMP=$RELEASEDIR/tmp
PKG=$TMP/package-$NAME
#--------------------------------------------

if [ $UID != 0 ]; then
   echo "You are not authorized to run this script. Please login as root"
   exit 1
fi

if [ ! -x /usr/bin/requiredbuilder ]; then
   echo "Requiredbuilder not installed, or not executable."
   exit 1
fi

if [ $VL_PACKAGER = "YOURNAME" ]; then
   echo 'Who are you?
   Please edit VL_PACKAGER=${VL_PACKAGER:-YOURNAME} in this script.
   Change the word "YOURNAME" to your VectorLinux packager name.
   You may also export VL_PACKAGER, or call this script with
   VL_PACKAGER="YOUR NAME HERE"'
   exit 1
fi

#CFLAGS SETUP
#--------------------------------------------
if [[ "$ARCH" = i?86 ]]; then
   ARCH=i586
   SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -march=i586 -mtune=i686"
   CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="i486-slackware-linux"
elif [ "$ARCH" = "x86_64" ]; then
   SLKCFLAGS="-O2 -fpic"
   CONFIGURE_TRIPLET="x86_64-pc-linux"
fi

export CFLAGS="$SLKCFLAGS $CFLAG_OPTIONS"
export CXXFLAGS=$CFLAGS
export LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS $LDFLAG_OPTIONS"
#--------------------------------------------
rm -rf $PKG
mkdir -p $PKG
cd $TMP
rm -rf $NAME-$VERSION

#EXTRACT SOURCES
#-----------------------------------------------------
echo "Extracting source..."
tar xvf $CWD/$NAME-$VERSION.tar.* || exit 1
#-----------------------------------------------------
cd $TMP/$NAME-$VERSION

#SET PERMISSIONS
#-----------------------------------------
echo "Setting permissions..."
chown -R root:root .
find . -perm 664 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 777 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 2777 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 775 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 2755 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 774 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 666 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 600 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 444 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 400 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 440 -exec chmod 644 {} \;
find . -perm 511 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 711 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
find . -perm 555 -exec chmod 755 {} \;
#-----------------------------------------

#CONFIGURE & MAKE
#----------------------------------------------------------------------
# If you are building a KDE-related app, then change the following
# arguments in the script below:
# --prefix=$(kde-config -prefix) \
# --sysconfdir=/etc/kde \
#
# Making these changes will ensure that your package will build in the
# correct path and that it will work seamlessly within the KDE environment.
#
#-----------------------------------------------------------------------
echo "Configuring source..."
./configure --prefix=/usr \
--sysconfdir=/etc \
--localstatedir=/var \
--mandir=/usr/man \
--with-included-gettext \
--disable-debug \
--program-prefix="" \
--program-suffix="" \
--build=$CONFIGURE_TRIPLET \
--with-qt4-dir=/usr/lib/qt4 \
$CONFIG_OPTIONS || exit 1

make || exit 1

make install DESTDIR=$PKG || exit

#######################################################################
#Miscellenious tweaks and things outside a normal ./configure go here #
#######################################################################
mkdir -p $PKG/usr/share/applications
cp $CWD/$NAME.desktop $PKG/usr/share/applications/$NAME.desktop
mkdir -p $PKG/usr/share/pixmaps
cp $CWD/$NAME.xpm $PKG/usr/share/pixmaps/$NAME.xpm
mkdir -p $PKG/usr/doc/$NAME-$VERSION
cp -a AUTHORS COPYING ChangeLog Credits MANIFEST README TODO \
$PKG/usr/doc/$NAME-$VERSION
cat $CWD/$NAME.SlackBuild > $PKG/usr/doc/$NAME-$VERSION/$NAME.SlackBuild
#----------------------------------------------------------------------

if [ -d $PKG/usr/share/man ] ; then
   mkdir -p $PKG/usr/man
   mv $PKG/usr/share/man/* $PKG/usr/man
   rm  $PKG/usr/share/man
fi
find $PKG/usr/man -type f -exec gzip -9 {} \;
if [ -d $PKG/usr/share/info ] ; then
   mkdir -p $PKG/usr/info
   mv $PKG/usr/share/info/* $PKG/usr/info
   rm $PKG/usr/share/info
fi
find $PKG/usr/info -type f -exec gzip -9 {} \;
mkdir -p $PKG/install

# This creates the white space in front of "handy-ruler" in slack-desc below.
LENGTH=$(expr length "$NAME")
SPACES=0
SHIM=""
until [ "$SPACES" = "$LENGTH" ]; do
   SHIM="$SHIM "
   let SPACES=$SPACES+1
done

# Fill in the package summary between the () below.
# Then package the description, License, Author and Website.
# There may be no more then 11 $NAME: lines in a valid slack-desc.
cat > $RELEASEDIR/slack-desc << EOF
# HOW TO EDIT THIS FILE:
# The "handy ruler" below makes it easier to edit a package description.  Line
# up the first '|' above the ':' following the base package name, and the '|'
# on the right side marks the last column you can put a character in.  You must
# make exactly 11 lines for the formatting to be correct.  It's also
# customary to leave one space after the ':'.

$SHIM|-----handy-ruler------------------------------------------------------|
$NAME: $NAME (The Document Processor)
$NAME:
$NAME: LyX is a document processor that encourages an approach to
$NAME: writing based on the structure of your documents (WYSIWYM),
$NAME: and not simply their appearance (WYSIWYG).
$NAME:
$NAME:
$NAME:
$NAME: License: GPL2
$NAME: Authors: The Lyx Team
$NAME: Website: http://www.lyx.org

#----------------------------------------
BUILDDATE: $(date)
PACKAGER:  $VL_PACKAGER
HOST:      $(uname -srm)
DISTRO:    $(cat /etc/vector-version)
CFLAGS:    $CFLAGS
LDFLAGS:   $LDFLAGS
CONFIGURE: $(awk "/\.\/configure\ /" $TMP/$NAME-$VERSION/config.log)

EOF

cat $RELEASEDIR/slack-desc > $PKG/install/slack-desc

#STRIPPING
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
cd $PKG
echo " "
echo "Stripping...."
echo " "
find . | xargs file | grep "executable" | grep ELF | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip --strip-unneeded 2> /dev/null
find . | xargs file | grep "shared object" | grep ELF | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip --strip-unneeded 2> /dev/null
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#FINISH PACKAGE
#--------------------------------------------------------------
echo "Finding dependencies..."
requiredbuilder -v -y -s $RELEASEDIR $PKG
echo "Creating package $NAME-$VERSION-$ARCH-$BUILD.tlz"
makepkg -l y -c n $RELEASEDIR/$NAME-$VERSION-$ARCH-$BUILD.tlz
cd $CWD
echo "Cleaning up temp files..." && rm -rf $TMP
echo "Package Complete"
#--------------------------------------------------------------

Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2008, 10:38:04 am »

Thanks that look identical to my slack build but and I had install Qt-4 also but for some reason I haven't quite figured out yet . on my machine it gave me a error Configure could not find QT4-dev file.  Don't know what went wrong but will try again.. just cause want to know.

have a good weekend ,Dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2008, 05:19:33 pm »

Quote
--with-qt4-dir=/usr/lib/qt4 \

I have add this...maybe this is the reason..I think.... Tongue
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1421



« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2008, 07:05:18 pm »

I tried hata_ph's download, after loading qt4 and tetex from gslapt and it worked perfectly.  I am most happy to get 1.5 as my 5.8 machine uses lyx 1.4 and 1.4.4 is not very good with spreadsheets.

 I then most likely screwed up (lived up to my name) as follows.  I tried DVI from the lyx view menu and it didn't work. DVI is quite helpful and I use it constantly while in lyx.  Rather than reboot (which I now think may have solved the problem) I went back to gslapt, typed DVI in the search bar, and got Aspell-sl and kdegraphics as suggestions.  I loaded them both and noted that it then loaded a lot of stuff, including qt3.38b.

DVI still didn't work, so I rebooted and now DVI works, but very slowly and with a very annoying feature (a magnifying box which follows the cursor).  I can't turn that box off.

Any suggestions?
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2008, 08:28:08 pm »

Sorry man as I never use lyx before.....but I did have a look at the lyx website and found this....

http://www.lyx.org/AdditionalSoftware
http://efeu.cybertec.at/

Is this what you want? If yes maybe I can try packages it too......
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1421



« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2008, 11:30:25 pm »

Boy am I dumb.  After going to the pages suggested by hata_ph I concluded that it (dvi) should be working as I had all that stuff loaded already.  Loaded a lyx file again and tried to view it in dvi.  Went to the dvi help screen and discovered that I could get out of magnifying mode by typing cntrl-M.  Now, best I can tell, lyx 1.5.5 works perfectly in every regard.  I use it a lot, so if its not right in some now unknown regard, it won't take me long  to find out and I will submit another post. 

This is quite nice by the way.  I doubt that any other linux version has lyx 1.5.5. 

Thanks hatah_ph.  Thanks much.
John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2008, 11:39:15 pm »

it nice to know that it work for you.... Smiley

btw, I packages lyx-1.5.5 without tetex as it dependency. Is tetex a must for lyx? If yes then I would like to re-package it again....
« Last Edit: June 28, 2008, 11:43:18 pm by hata_ph » Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2008, 01:23:44 am »

Quote
--with-qt4-dir=/usr/lib/qt4 \

I have add this...maybe this is the reason..I think.... Tongue

Thanks hata_ph -- your script worked great. so does Lyx  guess that was the difference I'd tried several hours the other day.. but then after you look at something for a few hours you can't always see the problem even if it's right there..
Cheers,
 Dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2008, 01:33:11 am »

 Wink
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1421



« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2008, 08:45:27 am »

hata_ph asked:

Quote
Is tetex a must for lyx?

I believe so.  It has always been on my machine when I use lyx and I have used lyx for 10 years or so. 

The lyx site (lyx.org) says:

Quote
Note: If you use the installers/packages for Windows, Mac OS X or Linux, the required software will be installed automatically.
1.  Required Software

Qt - user interface toolkit
    At least version 4.1 is needed for LyX 1.5.x. LyX 1.6.x needs at least version 4.2.
Python - scripting language
    Required for configuration and conversion scripts.

1.1  Document typesetting

(La)TeX distribution
    In order to properly use LyX to create documents, you'll need to have a LaTeX installation. You can use TeXLive (or older teTeX) on various unix-like systems, MikTeX on Windows or MacTeX on Mac OS.

(Emphasis added)

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2008, 08:01:51 pm »

Ok. I install tetex and repackages lyx again but from the slack-required it still didn't show tetex as it dependency......is there a way to do it?
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1421



« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2008, 11:35:21 pm »

Sorry, I just don't know.  I have reinstalled vector 5.8 on my Omnibook 900b and am thinking I might try your package on that, without first installing latex, and see what happens.  I don't have time right now as I am busy putting other stuff I need, like dosemu, on the 5.9 machine.

hata_ph's Lyx 1.5.5 works fine on my 5.9 machine. As it runs great with latex from the gslapt repositories,  I'm not sure there is anything more to do.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!