VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?  (Read 2095 times)

fightingspirit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
[Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« on: July 13, 2008, 04:49:59 pm »

I want to load conky as root at startup. The problem is that when I run it as a normal user, there's a weird bug where all this stuff shows up that I already edited out of the config file. But when I run conky as root, it runs displaying how I configured it in the conky.conf file.

In simple terms, how do I run an app at startup as root?

In the startup config file, I already tried
Code: [Select]
conky -root &and it doesn't even start.

When I put in
Code: [Select]
conky &it runs as if I ran it as a normal user and all the bugs display.

Any and all help would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 04:51:55 pm by fightingspirit »
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2008, 08:11:36 pm »

Why do you need this run as root?

Bigpaws
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2008, 08:48:27 pm »

Don't run it as root. What conky file did you edit, because you should have copied it to your ~/.conkrc file. Did you do that?

To get it to load in fluxbox add conky to the ~/.fluxbox/apps file or the startup file as explained here:
http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php/Editing_the_startup_file
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

fightingspirit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2008, 11:38:26 pm »

Fixed conky, it works right without having to use root... but I still want to know how to run things at startup as root.

For example, I need to run the modprobe command
Code: [Select]
modprobe ndiswrapperto get my wireless card working, but that needs to be run under root in order to work...

Any suggestions?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2008, 12:01:38 am by fightingspirit »
Logged

vector

  • Administrator
  • Vectorite
  • *****
  • Posts: 482
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2008, 12:47:16 am »

run vlwifi from vasm or vasmcc should get your wireless working.............
hth
vec
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2008, 03:32:22 am »

If you absolutely need to, you can put things at the bottom of /etc/rc.d/rc.local to be run at boot.
Logged

fightingspirit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: [Fluxbox] How do I load an app at startup under root?
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2008, 09:43:46 am »

Thanks for all the help.
Logged