VectorLinux
September 21, 2014, 07:48:55 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL5.9 Std Gold on IBM box w/ IDA  (Read 1791 times)
abolis

« on: July 16, 2008, 09:38:23 am »

I initially posted this in Vectorbie Questions, as I'm new to the Vector distro, but 24 hours, ~15 views, and no replies has lead me to cross-post here.

I wonder about the kernels suggested at the boot loader menu.  The only kernel file I can find on the CD is simply "linux".  Do I need to add some kernel parameters to the end of "linux" to get it to boot appropriately, or do I need a different kernel, and where do I find those different kernels for the ISO?

I'm having trouble getting the install CD to see my drive. 

IBM xSeries e232 Server
2x PIII 1.333Ghz
512MB RAM
Compaq Smart Array 4200
6x 36.4GB HDDs in RAID5 Volume

The CD will boot, load the kernel, load the cpqarray module for my controller, and get to setup, at which point it states it can't find any drive.  From CLI, I find that the system hasn't created the block devices necessary to access the drive (/dev/ida/c0d0 and c0d0p{x}).

I started with a 180GB array that had Win2K NTFS partitions on it, have since cleared those and created 3 partitions:
  /dev/ida/c0d0p1 - 512MB ext2 (/boot)
  /dev/ida/c0d0p2 - 2GB swap
  /dev/ida/c0d0p3 - 20GB ext2 (/)

The basic process of booting and accessing my drive from the CD goes like this-
  boot, setup fails, CLI
  mkdir /dev/ida, mknod /dev/ida/c0d0 b 72 0, mknod /dev/ida/c0d0p{x} b 72 {x}
  chmod 660 /dev/ida/c*, chown root:disk /dev/ida/c*