VectorLinux
October 20, 2014, 06:00:12 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem Starting Ethernet Connection - SOLVED  (Read 3790 times)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« on: June 17, 2008, 04:45:42 pm »

I have a laptop with an ethernet connection.

If I use the command:
Code:
lspci | grep Eth

I get:

00:09.0  Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 09)

The cable is plugged in and showing constant green and amber lights.

I used Netconfig to set up the controller with the default 'Netconf' suggested settings, using DHCP

When, as root, I type:

Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 start

I get:

Starting network eth0 as 192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0...
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: ERRORwhile getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
eth0: ERRORwhile getting interface flags: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device

If I look in VASM under NETWORK, INET, SET (just to see without modifying), I see:

inet1 DEVICE=eth0, DHCP
inet2 DEVICE=eth1, DHCP
inet3 DEVICE=eth0, DHCP

So why is eth0 not being recognised or started?
« Last Edit: July 15, 2008, 05:56:03 am by Martin109 » Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 01:57:15 pm »

Has the network driver loaded - try lsmod and look for ee100pro or e100. In the past I've found the e100 driver to be more reliable, so you may need to blacklist ee100pro (in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist) to force the e100 module to load.

If neither are loading, you may have a bit more of a problem. On one machine, I ended up having to manually load the mii driver, followed by the e100 before I could get the ethernet to work.

paul.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 07:53:17 pm »

I've run into the same problem.  There's nothing wrong with the eepro100 module.  There is something wrong with the boot process not loading the card.  It's easy to fix.  During your current session, as root, the following commands will get your network going again:

Code:
/sbin/modprobe eepro100
/etc/rc.d/rc.network restart

To fix the problem permanently you need to edit /etc/rc.d/rc.modules.  In the file you'll find a commented out line (starts with a #) for the eepro100 module.  Remove the leading # and save the file.  That will force loading the eepro100 module at boot time.  No need to fall back to the older module.

-Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2008, 12:14:39 am »

Thanks for those replies!

I'll try this out when I'm next in front of that machine next week.  (Sorting a problem in weekly visits IS a  bit slow!) Undecided
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2008, 05:06:25 am »

No need to fall back to the older module.

I had similar problems a while back, and from what I found, eepro100 is the older of the two. Using e100 solved my issues.
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2008, 01:30:39 pm »

I've run into the same problem.  There's nothing wrong with the eepro100 module.  There is something wrong with the boot process not loading the card.  It's easy to fix.  During your current session, as root, the following commands will get your network going again:

Code:
/sbin/modprobe eepro100
/etc/rc.d/rc.network restart

To fix the problem permanently you need to edit /etc/rc.d/rc.modules.  In the file you'll find a commented out line (starts with a #) for the eepro100 module.  Remove the leading # and save the file.  That will force loading the eepro100 module at boot time.  No need to fall back to the older module.

-Cait

I tried entering:

Code:
/sbin/modprobe eepro100

and

Code:
/sbin/modprobe e100

but both times got the result:

FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.20.3/modules.dep




Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2008, 08:52:55 pm »

2.6.20.3???  Which version of VL are you running?  Is it a release candidate or a beta?  All of the VL 5.9 versions have 2.6.22 or higher kernels.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2008, 04:04:12 am »

I'm running VL 5.8 Standard.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2008, 11:48:42 am »

OK, well... you're missing some of the standard (installed by default) kernel modules.   Rather than trying to fix that in an old release my advice would be to install VL 5.9.  It's much improved in a number of areas.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2008, 12:41:53 pm »

OK, thanks Caitlyn - I think I'll do that.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2008, 05:56:59 am »

Thanks, Caitlyn - sorted, as you said, by upgrading to VL 5.9! Smiley
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!