VectorLinux
July 22, 2014, 05:12:06 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello from Texas  (Read 3936 times)
anxious

« on: July 17, 2008, 11:07:43 am »

Hi all,

New guy here.  Been running Debian for last couple of years.  Read several reviews about Vector Linux and am really interested in this distribution. 

Anyway, my real name is Mike.  I have been a developer now for the last 26 years.  Got into Linux back in 1998 ( I think ) with Mandrake 7.

May I ask - I am a lil confused about which distro version to download and install.  I am a KDE man, my hardware is good - 2gb ram, 3.2ghz clock speed, nvidia 8600GT video card,  400gb internal drive, 750gb USB external drive, 22" LCD monitor, HP Officejet 7310 all in one printer.  My PC is a Compaq SA4000T - has firewire, several USB ports and a 9 in 1 card reader.

Could someone point me to the right distro to try?

Thank you.

Mike

nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 11:27:37 am »

Hi Mike.

Another KDE user here  Smiley  You can download the SOHO version of the older VL 5.8 for free. The current 5.9 version is for sale, but there is a "Live Preview" that you can use to test that one out.

Otherwise, you can use the free 5.9 Standard and install KDE using the package manager.

Welcome to VL,
Roy
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 11:35:01 am »

Welcome Mike!