Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: net connection... how to?  (Read 1827 times)

atonau

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
net connection... how to?
« on: July 20, 2008, 06:30:58 pm »
I have buy an old cheap computer... 365, 64 mb ram, 12 gb hda1... it was with win98... but i wanted to try with a linux that could run properly in these nec LaVie C LC500j/3...and VL Ligth RC2 was the selected ... installing it was quiet simple, i made it with the D-Link DFE-690TXD connected, and ws recognized... now i want to configure the net connection with the server name, the username and the password... :'( ;)

please, understand, these is the first time i use linux.... and i do not know were to configure it...anyone that could help me please... ??? ::) ??? ::) :P

Patricio, from Chile

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: net connection... how to?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2008, 07:45:25 pm »
Please describe your internet connection. Is it dialup, DSL. or cable
modem. Are you using pppoe, maybe pppoa? Is there a router do you
need a username and password to start the connection?

Bigpaws

atonau

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: net connection... how to?
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 08:48:12 pm »
I tried to answer many times but allways error... ok one's again... i wrote a doc with all the data, i send it to you now as pdf... (the doc is at http://www.geocities.com/atonau2004/data.doc) i hope you can acces the atached here or the other one...

Patricio

atonau

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: net connection... how to?
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2008, 08:51:14 pm »
Pardon... sorry the link is wrong... it must be http://www.geocities.com/atonau/data.doc

Patricio

atonau

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: net connection... how to?
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2008, 08:55:13 pm »
or visit http://www.geocities.com/atonau where you can see a data.doc link at the bottom of the first page

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: net connection... how to?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2008, 12:12:50 am »
You are using a pppoe client.

Use pppoe-setup will allow you to configure your
pppoe client and also dns.

As for the NIC card you can use VASM to set that up.

There may also be an option to setup pppoe as well,
I do not recall.

Bigpaws