VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.  (Read 1805 times)

Surreal Killa

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« on: July 17, 2008, 09:45:57 am »

Hi. I am new to Vector Linux, but not new to Linux. I am having an issue I hope someone can resolve. I have a D-Link 502T Generation II modem/router connected via ethernet, my IP is dynamic and every other OS I've used auto-configures with DHCP. I've never had a problem. During the install of Vector Linux however, I was informed that no modem was found. I continued the install anyway and booted into XFCE and tried to connect to the internet, but to no avail. I am using Vector Linux 5.9 Standard Gold Edition.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2008, 11:25:19 am »

The reference is to a for a dialup modem.

That is not a reference to a DSL modem. So everything
should be working.

Areas to check:

ifconfig
lsmod
route
/etc/resolv.conf (For the nameserver)

Bigpaws
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2008, 04:47:46 pm »

Try unplugging  the modem when the computer is off.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

Surreal Killa

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2008, 08:14:28 pm »

Still not working. I reinstalled and same thing: "Modem not found."
Logged

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2008, 10:39:15 pm »

open a terminal, su and password, then run command
Code: [Select]
dhcpcd eth0then try connection again.
Let me know the results, thank you.
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2008, 06:12:55 am »

Quote
Still not working. I reinstalled and same thing: "Modem not found."

This is in reference to a dailup modem not a DSL modem. Vector/Slackware check for
a modem for a dial up connection upon installation.

You are likely having a problem with the ethernet card. Please post the output of the
commands in my previous post.

Did you try VASM or netconfig  to setup your NIC?

Bigpaws
« Last Edit: July 18, 2008, 06:25:44 am by bigpaws »
Logged

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2008, 01:01:58 pm »

After reviewing his original post and checking the link he has given on the d-link item, it's not a dialup related issue, and is related to dsl / ethernet (as he also stated). see:
http://www.dlink.com.au/Products.aspx?Sec=1&Sub1=1&Sub2=2&PID=48

Anyways, the idea to try vasm or netconfig are reasonable solutions to try.
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2322
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2008, 04:26:16 pm »

I think what bigpaws is trying to say is that the error message "Modem not found" is a reference to a dialup modem and therefore not pertinent to the problem.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Vector Linux failing to recognize modem.
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2008, 08:15:48 pm »

I think what bigpaws is trying to say is that the error message "Modem not found" is a reference to a dialup modem and therefore not pertinent to the problem.
ah yeah, during installation, ok my bad on that. Apologies there bigpaws, I didn't picture what you were saying  ::)
Logged