VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Can't Access CDROM  (Read 2290 times)

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Can't Access CDROM
« on: July 27, 2008, 06:32:13 am »

I get a notice that I need HAL, but HAL is installed and v-hot is removed.  I am new to vector, but these are things that can be a deal breaker for me.  VL SOHO 5.9
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 06:43:12 am »

Quote
I get a notice that I need HAL

Please be more specific. Example I am trying to use
my Sony CDROM and get this error.

That will be a great help. Check that you are a member
of plugdev group.

Bigpaws
Logged

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 06:58:59 am »

LG oem cd/ dvd drive internal. It sees the cd, but when you click on the icon,  I get the HAL warning
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 07:41:02 am »

Are you a member of these groups?

messagebus haldaemon plugdev

You can check this by opening a terminal
and typing groups.

Not being a member of these groups can cause that
problem.

Bigpaws
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2008, 08:43:59 am »

Also, in a terminal type "ps aux | grep hal" and show us that output to this thread. Thanks!
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2008, 05:18:16 pm »

this is my output

root:# groups
root bin daemon sys adm disk wheel floppy
vector:/~
root:# ps aux | grep hal
root      4074  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   20:15   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
root:#
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2008, 06:25:50 pm »

Groups should be run as the normal user not root.

Root is not a member of the needed groups either.

Here is some information on that:

http://www.slackbook.org/html/essential-sysadmin.html

Bigpaws
Logged

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2008, 07:14:40 pm »

mike:$ groups
mike disk lp floppy audio video cdrom games plugdev scanner users
vector:/~
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$


I am new to slackware, 
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2008, 05:11:25 am »

Quote
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$

HAL is not running. Go to VasmCC > Hardware > Mounter > HAL. That should activate it. Confirm it by running the same command and you should see loads of hal processes.
Logged

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2008, 05:39:22 am »

I rebooted, and did it twice, it is working now, but will it work on every reboot?
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2008, 07:29:59 am »

It should. Once you choose HAL in VasmCC, it should stick.
But give it a try...
Logged