Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Can't Access CDROM  (Read 2278 times)

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Can't Access CDROM
« on: July 27, 2008, 05:32:13 am »
I get a notice that I need HAL, but HAL is installed and v-hot is removed.  I am new to vector, but these are things that can be a deal breaker for me.  VL SOHO 5.9

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 05:43:12 am »
Quote
I get a notice that I need HAL

Please be more specific. Example I am trying to use
my Sony CDROM and get this error.

That will be a great help. Check that you are a member
of plugdev group.

Bigpaws

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 05:58:59 am »
LG oem cd/ dvd drive internal. It sees the cd, but when you click on the icon,  I get the HAL warning

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 06:41:02 am »
Are you a member of these groups?

messagebus haldaemon plugdev

You can check this by opening a terminal
and typing groups.

Not being a member of these groups can cause that
problem.

Bigpaws

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2008, 07:43:59 am »
Also, in a terminal type "ps aux | grep hal" and show us that output to this thread. Thanks!
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2008, 04:18:16 pm »
this is my output

root:# groups
root bin daemon sys adm disk wheel floppy
vector:/~
root:# ps aux | grep hal
root      4074  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   20:15   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
root:#

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2008, 05:25:50 pm »
Groups should be run as the normal user not root.

Root is not a member of the needed groups either.

Here is some information on that:

http://www.slackbook.org/html/essential-sysadmin.html

Bigpaws

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2008, 06:14:40 pm »
mike:$ groups
mike disk lp floppy audio video cdrom games plugdev scanner users
vector:/~
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$


I am new to slackware, 

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2008, 04:11:25 am »
Quote
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$

HAL is not running. Go to VasmCC > Hardware > Mounter > HAL. That should activate it. Confirm it by running the same command and you should see loads of hal processes.

maprx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2008, 04:39:22 am »
I rebooted, and did it twice, it is working now, but will it work on every reboot?

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Can't Access CDROM
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2008, 06:29:59 am »
It should. Once you choose HAL in VasmCC, it should stick.
But give it a try...