VectorLinux
July 31, 2014, 05:29:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't Access CDROM  (Read 1978 times)
maprx
Member
*
Posts: 8


« on: July 27, 2008, 05:32:13 am »

I get a notice that I need HAL, but HAL is installed and v-hot is removed.  I am new to vector, but these are things that can be a deal breaker for me.  VL SOHO 5.9
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 05:43:12 am »

Quote
I get a notice that I need HAL

Please be more specific. Example I am trying to use
my Sony CDROM and get this error.

That will be a great help. Check that you are a member
of plugdev group.

Bigpaws
Logged
maprx
Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 05:58:59 am »

LG oem cd/ dvd drive internal. It sees the cd, but when you click on the icon,  I get the HAL warning
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 06:41:02 am »

Are you a member of these groups?

messagebus haldaemon plugdev

You can check this by opening a terminal
and typing groups.

Not being a member of these groups can cause that
problem.

Bigpaws
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2008, 07:43:59 am »

Also, in a terminal type "ps aux | grep hal" and show us that output to this thread. Thanks!
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
maprx
Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2008, 04:18:16 pm »

this is my output

root:# groups
root bin daemon sys adm disk wheel floppy
vector:/~
root:# ps aux | grep hal
root      4074  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   20:15   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
root:#
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2008, 05:25:50 pm »

Groups should be run as the normal user not root.

Root is not a member of the needed groups either.

Here is some information on that:

http://www.slackbook.org/html/essential-sysadmin.html

Bigpaws
Logged
maprx
Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2008, 06:14:40 pm »

mike:$ groups
mike disk lp floppy audio video cdrom games plugdev scanner users
vector:/~
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$


I am new to slackware, 
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2008, 04:11:25 am »

Quote
mike:$ ps aux | grep hal
mike      4554  0.0  0.0   3052   812 pts/1    R+   22:11   0:00 grep hal
vector:/~
mike:$

HAL is not running. Go to VasmCC > Hardware > Mounter > HAL. That should activate it. Confirm it by running the same command and you should see loads of hal processes.
Logged
maprx
Member
*
Posts: 8


« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2008, 04:39:22 am »

I rebooted, and did it twice, it is working now, but will it work on every reboot?
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2008, 06:29:59 am »

It should. Once you choose HAL in VasmCC, it should stick.
But give it a try...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!