VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 10:08:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!  (Read 1518 times)
AtariFan
Member
*
Posts: 23


« on: July 29, 2008, 06:03:43 pm »

Hi,

I didn't forget it. If I start an X app from the menu eg gslapt that requests the password - no problem.
But if I type the same password after "su root" in XTerm, it is rejected. Please help.
BTW, It would be VERY appreciated if the xterm would echo a '*' or so for every char typed in on password requests. I remember other Linuces lacking this feature, too.

Ludwig
Logged
kidd
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 682


« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 06:39:19 pm »

in fact, the no-echo thing is a feature. you can't peek how many chars is a password if nothing is echoed Smiley

try the command 'su' without the root argument.

gksu and kdesu (the dialog asking for root password before launching gslapt) use the same password as su, so there should be no problems

if it does not work, try with another terminal program (terminal, konsole or whatever) and see if it works (it could be xterm not doing well with some keystrokes)
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3184



« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 04:43:29 am »

I dont see how the terminal emulator application would matter in this issue.
If the system wont accept your password it's becuase it was typed in wrong.

even with the "root" argument after su, it works..

I just tried it here in xterm.
Logged

The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2008, 05:27:27 am »

Quote
If the system wont accept your password it's becuase it was typed in wrong.

even with the "root" argument after su, it works..

I just tried it here in xterm.
It might still be an encoding thing though. perhaps the OP's xterm uses a different set of chars then yours. Just because he he has trouble with xterm and you don't doesn't mean it's perfectly fine on his box too Wink. Obviously he will have tried retyping a couple of times before posting his trouble here.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 03:29:17 am »

Maybe that was what did happen to me last night.
Suddenly it didn't take my password and as far as
I know I did it right.

But doing reboot several times got it back.
so what can it be that make it lose it?
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!