VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!  (Read 1750 times)

AtariFan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!
« on: July 29, 2008, 07:03:43 pm »

Hi,

I didn't forget it. If I start an X app from the menu eg gslapt that requests the password - no problem.
But if I type the same password after "su root" in XTerm, it is rejected. Please help.
BTW, It would be VERY appreciated if the xterm would echo a '*' or so for every char typed in on password requests. I remember other Linuces lacking this feature, too.

Ludwig
Logged

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 07:39:19 pm »

in fact, the no-echo thing is a feature. you can't peek how many chars is a password if nothing is echoed :)

try the command 'su' without the root argument.

gksu and kdesu (the dialog asking for root password before launching gslapt) use the same password as su, so there should be no problems

if it does not work, try with another terminal program (terminal, konsole or whatever) and see if it works (it could be xterm not doing well with some keystrokes)

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3230
Re: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2008, 05:43:29 am »

I dont see how the terminal emulator application would matter in this issue.
If the system wont accept your password it's becuase it was typed in wrong.

even with the "root" argument after su, it works..

I just tried it here in xterm.

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2008, 06:27:27 am »

Quote
If the system wont accept your password it's becuase it was typed in wrong.

even with the "root" argument after su, it works..

I just tried it here in xterm.
It might still be an encoding thing though. perhaps the OP's xterm uses a different set of chars then yours. Just because he he has trouble with xterm and you don't doesn't mean it's perfectly fine on his box too ;). Obviously he will have tried retyping a couple of times before posting his trouble here.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

nooby

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 96
Re: XTerm doesn't accept root password - help!
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 04:29:17 am »

Maybe that was what did happen to me last night.
Suddenly it didn't take my password and as far as
I know I did it right.

But doing reboot several times got it back.
so what can it be that make it lose it?
Logged
EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)