VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: fontfix error  (Read 4184 times)

kappapi3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
fontfix error
« on: August 02, 2008, 03:43:21 am »

Hi, when i try to install fontfix by Gslapt, i have "pkgtools returned an error". What do i do?
I before add to sources tp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/ and the system retrieves packets data etc but when i try to install fontfix, gslapt fails. :-[ :-[
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2008, 07:24:36 am »

I can install it fine here.
Did you use the "update" button before trying? (I assume you did, but it doesn't hurt to ask).

Try typing:
Code: [Select]
slapt-get --update
slapt-get --install fontfix
(making sure that the testing repo data was read).
Post any errors you might get.]

Hope this helps.
Logged

kappapi3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2008, 09:59:13 am »

Hi, i post the result of your code:

root@localhost:~# slapt-get --update
Retrieving package data [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/]...Cached
Retrieving patch list [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/]...Done
Retrieving checksum list [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/]...Cached
Retrieving checksum signature [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/]...Not Found  :o
Retrieving ChangeLog.txt [ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/]...Cached
Reading Package Lists...Done
root@localhost:~# slapt-get --install fontfix
Reading Package Lists... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  fontfix
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0.0kB/3.0kB of archives.
After unpacking 20.0kB of additional disk space will be used.

Preparing to install fontfix-1.0-noarch-2vl59
Cannot install /var/slapt-get/./base-apps/fontfix-1.0-noarch-2vl59.tlz: package does not end in .tgz  ???
Failed to execute command: [/sbin/installpkg /var/slapt-get/./base-apps/fontfix-1.0-noarch-2vl59.tlz]
« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 10:22:02 am by kappapi3 »
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2008, 10:49:18 am »

Weird....
Don't worry about the not found for the checksums. I get that as well. The checksums are not there, so far as I know.

But cannot install?!?
The package is definitely there... you can download it and do installpkg on it:
ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.9/testing/base-apps/fontfix-1.0-noarch-2vl59.tlz

Maybe if you try the http:// addresses for the sources it would work?...
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2383
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 11:01:32 am »

Looks like you upgraded the package tools from a slack repo maybe? That would explain "package does not end in .tgz", VL packages ends in tlz and they need a patched version of the pkgtools afaik.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2008, 11:14:42 am »

Perhaps reinstalling pkgtools and/or slapt-get from the vector repositories will fix it.
But carefully...  ;)
Logged

kappapi3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2008, 01:50:09 pm »

Hi.
For rbistolfi: i didn't upgrade the package tool. I installed Vector Linux as i found it on DVD of "Linux Pro", a italian magazine.
For wcs: i just try to download fontfix and install by installpkg but i obtain the same negative result.

I try to install a another packet (5ball) to understand the issue and i obtain the same error, so i think that this issue is about each packet.
How can i reinstall pkgtool?

Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2008, 02:04:38 pm »

Search for pkgtools-tukaani in gslapt (with the packages, extra and patches repositories enabled).
Right-click, re-install, execute.
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2008, 02:55:16 pm »

Ummmm the pkgtools package is also a .tlz file.

I'd try repackaging it so it's a .tgz package.

make yourself a directory to work in.
Open a terminal and cd to that directory.

Quote
wget http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/packages/base/pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz
mkdir explode
cd explode
Switch to root (su)
lzma -cdv ../pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tlz |tar xp
makepkg -l y -c n ../pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tgz

You will now see a new package in your first directory you created. pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tgz
Install it as root with:
Quote
upgradepkg --install-new --reinstall pkgtools-tukaani-1.2.4-i586-1vl60.tgz
Hopefully that will be enough to get you back on track. :)
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2008, 03:29:35 pm »

Quote
Ummmm the pkgtools package is also a .tlz file.

LOL! Silly me. If you can't install any package, you can't install the pkgtools.
Hopefully after exeterdad's advice, you should be fine.
Logged

kappapi3

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2008, 05:00:12 am »

Hi, i'm sorry...
I have done confusion: I installed Darkstar, another distribution that was on the same DVD, instead of Vector Linux and I became aware only now...
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: fontfix error
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2008, 05:49:05 am »

 ;D Ok, now we know the reason.
Yea, Vector's packages are in tlz format, so they might give you trouble if you want to easily install in other slackware-based distros. (The reverse is not true: you can install lots of slackware packages in Vector.)
Logged