VectorLinux
July 30, 2014, 04:58:57 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: APM Puzzle  (Read 2001 times)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« on: August 03, 2008, 05:28:33 am »

I've installed VL 5.9 standard on a Fujitsu Lifebook and, when booting, the display reports 'FAILED' in relation to the apm module.  Yet, I can shut down the system fine with 'shutdown -h now' or reboot with 'shutdown -r now'.

Also, in xfce, the wallpaper is shown fine, but all text is very bitty and faint, as is the GUI log-on screen.  The boot display showed 'FAILED' when caching fonts.  Could this have anything to do with it?

It's strange, VL 5.9 installed perfectly on a much older Compaq Armada E500 with 128Mb memory.  On this much more modern and highly specced Fujitsu, the install from the same CD is behaving oddly in these respects, and others to do with networking, which I've covered in another thread.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 05:37:56 am »

The fonts on the login screen can be improved by editing kdmrc (in my system it's in /etc/kde/kdm/kdmrc, but I think in a fresh install it will be in /usr/share somewhere... you might have to look for it).
There's an option there for antialiasing that you should uncomment or write TRUE) or something like that (the file has instructions onit, so it shouldn't be a problem).

For fonts in xfce, you can try Menu > Settings > User Interface Preferences for antialiasing stuff and sub-pixel hinting until you like the result.

I wouldn't worry about those failed messages... I don't know what they're about, but if it works, it's no big deal.
You can try typing "fs-cache -fsv" in a terminal as root, to see if the fonts cache can be updated with no problems... that should tell you if there's anything wrong with it.
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 05:44:53 am »

For fonts in xfce, you can try Menu > Settings > User Interface Preferences for antialiasing stuff and sub-pixel hinting until you like the result.

Thanks, wcs.  The above instructions have worked well with the screen text, but hasn't affected the screen icons, which are very 'pixelly'.  Does fixing those need a different approach?
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 06:04:23 am »

Not that I know of....  Huh
You mean the text on the icons or the icons themselves?
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 07:21:25 am »

The icons themselves.

Also the small blue window which opens when x Window is being set up and posts comments 'Starting Thunar', 'Starting Desktop Manager' etc is very coarse and granulated.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 07:45:33 am »

Update:  strangely, things seem to be working correctly after a reboot.  All working normal now.  Thanks for the help!
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2008, 09:05:06 am »

Oops! Spoke too soon.  It's back!

Only in icons and screens I've described already.  Not when I open Firefox, but the little menu icons in AbiWord, for example, are the same.  Coarse and as if they had little wavey line running horizontally through them.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2008, 09:14:16 am »

mmm... I'm puzzled.
Cannot imagine ehat the problem might be.
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2008, 10:11:54 am »

OK again now, this time after the screen saver came on for a bit, I think!

I'll try another reboot, and see what happens.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2008, 10:15:51 am »

Just rebooted and it's still OK.

I think this is what you call a 'spurious' phenomenon!
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2008, 01:19:55 am »

Back again!

I wonder if this might be interference of some sort from an adjacent machine. Huh
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2008, 03:25:32 am »

I have an Aopen MZ915 barebone computer and it gives same error during boot.

Would it help if you do a cheat code writing apm off or something? Or would acpi=force
not take care of that? Hope I am not derailing your thread. Mine still shut down cleanly
despite reporting this apm error. Most other linux distros did not shut down cleanly so
Vector works very good on my machine.
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 289


« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2008, 04:03:22 am »

Nooby, I've been unclear in my OP, as I wasn't necessarily linking the APM failed error with the strange screen icons!  Maybe they ARE connected?  I was just mentioning it as another issue, but should really have started a new thread.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!