VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Insane font problem [solved]  (Read 1919 times)

Sivatheja

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • Banthigaadu
VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Insane font problem [solved]
« on: August 03, 2008, 07:41:50 pm »

Hi,

After six months use of VL on my workstation, people are convinced to put it on my laptop also at home. I've made the vector workstation into XP and now this laptop has to be a VL one :)

This time I've downloaded 5.9 STD Gold and installed the OS. During the installation the progress bar says that it is installing -22MB of... (yes negative), and finally it says installation complete, but the progress bar says 103% instead of 100%. All this is fine with me, but finally when everything was installed on my laptop, and the laptop is restarted, text in login screen is rendered really huge.

Each letter is as big as one third of the screen.

When I reach the desktop, the taskbar occupies one third of the screen. A 'right click' on the desktop, only two letters of the menu fill up the whole screen.

Mine is a Compaq Presario C300 notebook.

- Sivatheja.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2008, 09:05:44 pm by Sivatheja »
Logged
Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2008, 05:13:11 am »

Use the vesa video driver and then adjust xorg to the
proper driver.

You can fins alot of information on linux-laptop.net.

Bigpaws
Logged

Sivatheja

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • Banthigaadu
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2008, 07:27:19 pm »

I've checked it, but dont find anything for compaq presario c300. Found Comapq c300, and that is for fedora. I'm posting this from windows machine and the Linux is on my laptop, so I guess I cannot copy paste system specific info here.

See attached lspci.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2008, 07:48:09 pm by Sivatheja »
Logged
Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2008, 09:37:26 pm »

Googled your laptop with linux in annexed to it, first hit:

http://www.linlap.com/wiki/HP-Compaq+Presario+C300

Everything is listed including the howto for your video.

Bigpaws
Logged

Sivatheja

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • Banthigaadu
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem [Partially solved]
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2008, 12:10:01 pm »

I've already seen it :) and that does not list about VL as the OS. They all use apt-get BTW and that is not recognized in VL (or I was doing some mistake).

The problem is now solved! I start in TUI and type
Code: [Select]
startx -- -dpi 100
Now everything looks fine! The whole point is that I'll have to do this each time I restart my Lappy! See the attachments 1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg. This is how it looked on default boot, and now it looks as 4.jpg :D

FYI: http://www.mombu.com/gnu_linux/slackware/t-default-font-size-in-x-1402412.html

Is there any way to do automatically? You may man Xserver for interesting information

-- Sivatheja :)
« Last Edit: August 05, 2008, 12:18:17 pm by Sivatheja »
Logged
Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem [Partially solved]
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2008, 12:33:52 pm »

LOL!
Or should I say:
LOL!
No wonder this was upsetting you :)
Glad you can at least get it useable. I'm sure this will get worked out in a more elegant way.
Logged

Sivatheja

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • Banthigaadu
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Problem [Partially solved]
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2008, 12:40:14 pm »

It was always fascinating, and finally when I see the answer, it is like "shit, itz so easy!!!". My only point of  concern is that, I first 'htop' ed to see RAM usage, it has spiked to 172MB in 5.9 from what it was - 112 MB on VL 5.8 :)
Logged
Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD

Sivatheja

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • Banthigaadu
Re: VL 5.9 on my Laptop - Insane font size [Solved]
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2008, 09:01:01 pm »

Solved:

Partial solution:
1) start in tui
2) then startx -- -dpi 100

Complete solution:
1) start in tui
2) locate kdmrc (/usr/share/config/kdm/kdmrc)
3) locate ServerArgsLocal in that file
4) add the dpi thing there --> ServerArgsLocal=-nolisten tcp -dpi 100
5) restart your machine.
6) From this restart onwards, the view is bearable.

One can play with the 100 dpi thing, give 200/ 50/ 111 - check your best fit.

-Sivatheja
Logged
Full Linux Machine - Vector Linux 5.9 STD Gold, Intel - 1.79 GHz, 1Gb RAM, 60GB HDD