VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 07:15:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to get swedish keyboard?  (Read 2245 times)
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« on: August 05, 2008, 12:47:22 am »

Seems there is something gone wrong in the VASM

one should use El Salvador instead if the Swedish.
Not sure what they should do. Spanish maybe?

Here is a link to the guy that told us about it.
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=2595.0

Quote
You can either set the keymap to sv-latin1 (El-Salvador) in vasm or just edit (as root) /etc/rc.d/rc.keymap and change se-latin1 to sv-latin1.

Then you can edit /etc/profile.d/lang.sh and /etc/profile.d/lang.csh by changing the en_US to sv_SE that will give you swedish menus (mostly) and although that's probably not a pro's method it works anyway. (I'm a noob remember?).


He says something about KDE too. That one needs speacial treatment. Read at link.

I\m even more noob than he so I fail to know what window gui I use. Where can I see such things.

most likely I use xfce? cause I have no clue on how to do things. I come from puppy territory
and are not used to xfce at all, neither with kde maybe I could know in gnome?

ok I try his suggestion.

Nope sadly it failed too. Most likely he had an older version of vector. so back to drawing board.

Doesn't anybody know how to do this. very surprising

here is another suggestion.
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=6021.0

but it looks way too complicated to me. 

Well this is a bigger thing than me anticipated.

Neither Finland nor Denmark nor Norway nor Sweden works. and not the ElSavador thing either.

So someone need to look into this. I followed the advices and it fails to stuck.
it even fail to apply when it say it did apply. so something is wrong.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2008, 01:46:26 am by nooby » Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2008, 04:28:20 am »

This may help:

http://xlayn.blogspot.com/2007/07/slackware-12-review.html

Bigpaws
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2008, 05:01:05 am »

That is fixed now. That was before VL 5.9.
5.9 labels it as Swedish.


EDIT: Sorry, you're right, sv-latin1 says El Salvador.... It's se-latin1 that is Swedish.
But yes, it seems that you choose sv-latin1, even if it has a different name there.

Go to VasmCC > Hardware > Keyboard Map, then choose Swedish (the se-latin1) the sv-latin1.
Also, if you change the keyboard map in xorg.conf, instead of in VASM, you should write "sv-latin1" there.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2008, 05:05:38 am by wcs » Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2008, 05:07:48 am »

Or try both  (the el salvador and the swedish one). It cannot hurt.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2008, 05:50:26 am »

Quote
So someone need to look into this. I followed the advices and it fails to stuck.
it even fail to apply when it say it did apply. so something is wrong.

I know you say it doesn't work (you now have three threads asking about the Swedish keyboard).

But changing the keyboard works for everyone else on this forum.
I'll say this one more time: The reason your keyboard map doesn't stick is because you're using a Live CD.

First: When you change it (whether in xorg.conf or using VASM), do NOT reboot. Do Ctrl + Alt + Backspace to restart X, and then check if the keyboard map is ok.

If it is ok, you need to find a way of saving changes. Rbistolfi has posted a solution for this in another thread.



Logged
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2008, 06:59:11 am »

Yes I set up the save changes first so we get that cleared up.

Ok I test the Ctrl + Alt + Backspace one more time today.

Yes sorry that I am so persistent in not giving up on Vector.
It should work sooner or later so if you like vector stand up
for it, support, it and see this as an opportunity to learn how
your beloved distro looks like from a clumsy noobs perspective.

I apology. I do my best but I am not as smart as you are folks. Smiley
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2008, 05:02:42 pm »

Quote
I apology. I do my best but I am not as smart as you are folks.

Hey, sorry. I didn't mean it in that way.
Maybe I came across as a bit too impatient.

Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2008, 09:02:18 pm »

I agree that the LIve CD is at the core of the problem.  I manually edit my xorg.conf to allow me to switch between US English (what my laptop has) and an external Israeli (Hebrew-English) keyboard that I mainly use at home.  Once I have us,il in xorg.conf I can switch with whatever keyboard switching applet the DE I'm using has (i.e.: Xfce or KDE).
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2008, 04:23:34 am »

wcs, not your fault at all, I am very bad at finding the right way to say things.
I'm known to come through as a clumsy brute when from within me I feel nice
and  friendly but I guess it is the grumpty old men syndrome or something asperger
related. Lack of empatich insight in how one appear from outside.

caitlyn

Yes that is the way to do it. I realized that last night but it is still way above
my current grasp on how to edit things. But I managed to get Swedish to stuck
for a session but having not solved how to save things between sessions makes
it less attractive to do by hand each time.

So I need to solve the changes= part in menu.lst first.

In Nimblex and Goblinx I've followed their developers suggestions and that worked for me.

Here in Vector I still have not found an easy way to do it.

In your column where you comment on many different Slax derivatives???
as I remember you do mention frugal install of Vector linux?

Or is that my poor memory or wishful thinking making a fool out of me.
If it is needed I most likely can find a proper citation.

I try to stay neutral in the distro fight. For me what is practical is the judge.
Nimblex had more working out of the box compared to DSL and Puppy but
for me the Puppy forum is the most n00B tolerant so I need to be friend with
al of you linux savvy people. So I try to stay indifferent or what the right word is.

If it works then it works, regardless of behavior of supporters. I felt bad too.

By the way. I am retired now and have listen to HAM radio since me 10 years old.
But I never learned the morse CW code so no license to send.

End of derail.

So how do I set up frugal of VL5.9Std so it save changes.

Which files from the CD is needed to be moved to the folders in the NTFS in windows?

Oh forgot to explain that I fail to mount so I can't do it from within Vector.
Both Nimblex and Goblinx mounted from scratch so surprising Vector failed to.
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2008, 04:46:53 am »

VL Live was not designed with "frugal" install in mind. It is more intended as a demo or a troubleshooting/repair tool.

If you come up with a frugal install hack, be sure to publish it in the HOWTO section.  Wink

Velkommen til vår lille verden.
Logged
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2008, 07:04:28 am »

Tack NightFlier. Smiley Jeg er meget bange for o snack skandinavisk i forum. Svenska funkar. Smiley

It is better if all if us use English. Sadly I am not as good at it as needed.
A lot of misunderstanding happen all the time due to my clumsy style in the language.

Back to topic. Well live is for live obviously. So a hack maybe it looks like from
the perspective of the developers.

to be able to do what you hope here Smiley then I need to know where in the hierarchy
of directories does changes save itself within Vector on the CD?

I mean when you start up the cd again it does remember that you downloaded
emails and such. It remembers set up of keyboard it you told it too?

And let me ask this important? thing.

Everytime me start up now it let me chose between the following.

Vxconfig

Auro
Vesa
FBDEU
Exit

As a n00B I fail to get what or which suites me best cause I don't get what they do
or the consequences of a choice. Embarrassing but that is my level of knowledge. Smiley

so which one of these choices allow me to save things?
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2008, 07:55:29 am »

Quote
Everytime me start up now it let me chose between the following.

Those options are about how to configure your graphic display.

Go for Auto for auto-detection. It should work.
If it gives you problems, I think VXconf will ask you questions about your hardware (graphic card, monitor) and then configure your display accordingly.
If you still have problems, you can try the Vesa one.

So far as I know, choosing one option or the other will not have any effect on your ability to save changes.

Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2008, 07:57:51 am »

But, hey, remember to start a new thread for any new questions you have.  Wink
This one was about changing the keyboard and that is now solved.
Logged
nooby
Member
*
Posts: 96



« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2008, 08:12:31 am »

Yes, I will try to follow protocol from now on.
Logged

EeePC 900 1GB 16GB Vector 7.0 STDGold frugal install.
SnowPuppy 5.0 (Lucid Puppy 513 based)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!