VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 06:39:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No icon in system tray for compiz * Solved *  (Read 1984 times)
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« on: September 21, 2008, 11:02:24 am »

What determines the icon that will be displayed in the system tray?

I installed compiz-fusion from gslapt and everything is working fine but the icons did not display in menu or the system tray.
It was easy enough to fix the menu icons, but I don't know where to look to fix the missing icon for the system tray.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. Oddly enough I have two computers with Vector on them and only had this problem on one of them.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2008, 10:38:42 pm by stretchedthin » Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2008, 05:44:36 am »

how did you start compiz?
the icon will normally show up if you start it using
Code:
fusion-icon
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2008, 09:40:27 am »

I start compiz using either Menu-->System--> compiz fusion icon

Or by compiz-fusion.sh at the command line.

I installed via Gslapt installing only compiz-fusion version 20080108-i586-2vl59

I'm using VL5.9 Gold by the way.

As you know I installed this on two machines, the same way. One worked fine(the laptop), the other had no icons, either in the menu or in the system tray.(The desktop)

I had to add a path to the icon names in the .desktop files of the desktop even though they read exactly the same in the laptop and worked fine without the path.

Example in laptop....Icon=fusion-icom  (Is the line from the Desktop Entry)
But to work in the desktop I had to change to...
Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/fusion-icon.png

Also the problem machine would not start correctly, but would run fine after window manager was reloaded. It behaved as if it was starting without a window manager/decorator at all.  At start up I can type xfwm in a terminal or compiz-fusion.sh and then the appropriate one will run.  Usually xfwm will refuse to run if a window manager is already running.

So any ideas.  Maybe it will help to think along the lines of 'what could stretchedthin have screwedup' rather than any problem with VL

Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2008, 09:48:46 am »

Quote
At start up I can type xfwm in a terminal or compiz-fusion.sh and then the appropriate one will run.  Usually xfwm will refuse to run if a window manager is already running.

Just correcting my own mistake. Command  xfwm is wrong.  Should read xfwm4.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2008, 10:04:10 am »

almost all window managers will refuse to start if one is already running.

The only reason the tray icon will not appear is if you start compiz manually.
I suggest sticking with the menu or fusion-icon from a terminal

make sure your .desktop file (menu entry) has the correct command in the "EXEC" line.
I'm not sure what compiz-fusion.sh is... but fusion-icon is really a python application that calls compiz at runtime... so that's what you should really be running.
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2008, 10:56:36 am »

compiz-fusion.sh is the exec from the .desktop file.

Really the only problem I have now is that the icon will not display in the system tray.  Everything else I have worked around.

I was hoping someone could point me to the file where the system tray gets it's information from.  So I could make some corrections similar to the correction I made in the .desktop files.

Thanks.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2008, 10:59:14 am »

There is no such file. Each WM/DE has it's own system tray. Whether or not an application will go to the system tray is up to the developer of each app. Do you have a fusion-icon command?
Are you at all trying to run fusion-icon?
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2008, 04:07:48 pm »

Thanks for sticking with me on this MOE-lnx. 
I've been assuming the fusion-icon command has been running because I do get a broken graphic in the system tray. I can right click it and get to the compiz settings manager, reload window manager etc.  I had assumed it was the fusion-icon command that launched it.  I probably shouldn't assume eh?

I will do as you say though and try to run the command from the terminal when I get home.

Thanks again.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2008, 10:37:27 pm »

I got home and tried the fusion-icon command, but that just gave me a second broken picture icon on my panel. (included picture)

So I played a round a little and thought why not put the fusion-icon.png in user/share/pixmaps,  thats where most of the apps are drawing them from anyway.

So I did and it worked. (The next Picture)
I'm marking this one solved.

For some reason my icons were in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 04:50:23 am »

That almost looks like a badly built package.
Did you install that from slapt-get?
Logged

stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2008, 07:47:02 am »

I'm not sure.  I have installed without the same problem on other machines.  I've only had the icon problem on this one.

Maybe if anyone else has the same problem they can let the community know on this thread.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!