Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Mounting Windows Partition  (Read 4196 times)

rafiki6

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Mounting Windows Partition
« on: May 17, 2008, 08:32:56 pm »
Hey all,

I have recently installed Vector Soho 5.8 on my Asus F3sv laptop. There are many kinks and things I still need to work out but I have gotten most of it working. But there has been one thing that I just can't get to work.

I can't properly mount my Windows partition.

My hard drive is as follows :

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         638     5120000   1c  Hidden W95 FAT32 (LBA)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2   *         638       12312    93773824    7  HPFS/NTFS
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda3           12312       19458    57396056    5  Extended
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda5           12312       19458    57396055+  83  Linux

I got this from running "fdisk -l"

Originally /dev/sda2 which is my Windows partition was not written in /etc/fstab. So I wrote it in using the following:
/dev/sda2 / ntfs defaults 0 1

I had another setting in fstab which I don't remeber. But what I wrote above allows me to mount the Vista partition. Then when I open it in /media/sda2 it just loads the already exisiting Linux partition and all the files in their, instead of the Vista partition. Any ideas?

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Mounting Windows Partition
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 09:02:25 pm »
Man mount

You did not specify a mount point.

Google mount ntfs partition:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/how-to-mount-ntfs-partition-141777/

Bigpaws

rafiki6

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Mounting Windows Partition
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 09:25:33 pm »
I have googled and googled and googled for days with no results. I have attempted to manually mount, but would always run into errors or issues. So the only way I could even get it to recognize the drive was through fstab. Any other ideas?

rafiki6

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Mounting Windows Partition
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2008, 09:42:47 pm »
Well I solved the issue. I installed ntfs-3g and mounted the disk to /mnt/windows

Thanks!

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Mounting Windows Partition
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 07:17:47 am »
Good that it works now.
If you need utilities for ntfs partitions, the ntfsprogs package will be in the testing repository soon.