VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 04:11:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cannot login into GUI! [solved]  (Read 3274 times)
Asound
Member
*
Posts: 19


« on: August 23, 2008, 08:26:40 am »

Hello,
well as the title says I cannot login into the gui of Linux, i always got redirectet to the textmode! Iam using Vector-Linux 5.9. I also have KDE installed and auto-login activated.
Whenever Vector tries to go to the gui, I the see the nvidia logo and then Iam back at the textmode, but the system thinks Iam in the gui. And doing it manually with the init command isnt working too.
Yesterday all was working fine. I have just installed some mediaplayers and other application to watch tv.

Hope its the right section.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2008, 01:10:45 pm by Asound » Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2008, 10:00:11 am »

Check Xorg.log in /var/log

Bigpaws
Logged
Asound
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2008, 10:37:06 am »

Hi,

i have looked into the log file.
The only things i foung about errors: "(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??)" and at the end of the file "Fatal server error: could not open default font 'fixed'"
That was all i could find about errors.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2008, 10:57:27 am »

Quote
but the system thinks Iam in the gui

What gives you that impression?

Have you tried startx?

Bigpaws
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2008, 11:34:21 am »

Quote
could not open default font 'fixed'

login as root and run "/var/log/scripts/x11-fonts*"
Logged
Asound
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2008, 01:10:27 pm »

Thank you! Its working now!



Quote
but the system thinks Iam in the gui

What gives you that impression?

Well typing "init 4" as root didnt made anything, so I first had to change to the text-mode with "init 2", so that "init 4" is showing an effect.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!