VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!  (Read 30954 times)

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2008, 10:42:17 pm »

The site looks fine here too.  I'm testing a new hv3 package and it looks good in this browser as well.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

never_stop_learning

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • CigarWeekly
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2008, 11:27:22 pm »

Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping XFCE as the default for 6.0..... I don't have anything against Gnome or KDE but both do have significant overhead by comparison.....

Again.....Thank you.
Logged
Laptop: IBM X60s (Centrino/Duo, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Netbook: HP Mini (Intel Atom 1ghz, 2gb ram, 16gb SSD + 8gb flash ) VL 6.0 Std
Desktop: Dell Dimension 5150 (P4 3ghz, 2gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std
Wife's Desktop: Gateway (P4 2ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hd) VL 6.0 Std

mike99

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2008, 11:30:54 pm »

Hello! Nice comprehensive installer. However, it errors out at 92% . "Unexpected error and must abort.(1) out of memory md/install/sys.?.0" message.  On 2 seperate downloads & burns, on an AMD Athlon900 512ram 4GB disk. Used Gparted in the installer. Part.1= 2.37gb as / .  2=996.22mb as /home . 3=596.16mb as swap. Install choice was Full, not custom. no other distros on this drive. I guess i could try Custom install and see if i fare better!? mike
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2008, 07:59:49 am »

Part.1= 2.37gb as / . 

I think that is too small for / , and hence the error. I believe it needs about 3GB minimum to install.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

waynev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2008, 10:59:10 pm »

Part.1= 2.37gb as / . 

I think that is too small for / , and hence the error. I believe it needs about 3GB minimum to install.

OK!  I'll give it ago at 3G+/  I was going to pass on this Alpha until later, but if you believe 3G+/ gets it on the hard drive, I'll give it ago.  What chance is there it would duel boot with W2K-Pro?  Will LilO handel an already installed W2K or XP?
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #21 on: September 09, 2008, 06:16:39 am »

Quote
What chance is there it would duel boot with W2K-Pro?  Will LilO handel an already installed W2K or XP?

That shouldn't pose a problem. When you get to the lilo configuration screen, it should tell you if it found Windows or not.
In my experience, it has always worked.
Logged

waynev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #22 on: September 09, 2008, 10:32:57 am »

I've a liitle problem with the 6.0 Alpha. 

Booted with the IDE/SATA Kernel. 

A blue screen notifying the installer was loading then black screen with dialog box which stated "out of range" it gave some Hz. Ctrl-Alt and tapped back space - blue screen back up and repeated the cycle. What do you suggest?
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #23 on: September 09, 2008, 11:48:39 am »

I don't recommend installing an Alpha, nor even a Beta, especially of you are new to it. I suggest VL5.9 Standard Gold. Lilo will pick up your Windows partition no problem. Allow at least 4GB for / , preferably more if you want to add more software at a later date.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

waynev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #24 on: September 09, 2008, 12:36:04 pm »

I don't recommend installing an Alpha, nor even a Beta, especially of you are new to it. I suggest VL5.9 Standard Gold. Lilo will pick up your Windows partition no problem. Allow at least 4GB for / , preferably more if you want to add more software at a later date.

Down loaded and burned VL5.9-light Final [[ Installed on Compaq 192MB Ram and 6GB HD ]] Compaq is hardly ever booted up. VL5.9-light Final gave a smooth install and it looks great.  VL5.9-SOHO Preview Live and VL5.9 Beta Live will be run on hp 500MB Ram,14GB HD.  I'm trying to get a full featured Linux with turn key wireless, and I'm hoping VL is the one.  How about VL5.9 Standard Gold; Can VL Gold wireless outofthebox with USB ZyDas Adapter  [[ ZyDas 1211rw driver required ]] 
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #25 on: September 09, 2008, 12:36:54 pm »

I've a liitle problem with the 6.0 Alpha. 

Booted with the IDE/SATA Kernel. 

A blue screen notifying the installer was loading then black screen with dialog box which stated "out of range" it gave some Hz. Ctrl-Alt and tapped back space - blue screen back up and repeated the cycle. What do you suggest?

HINT
Try hitting CTRL+ALT+Num+ and CTRL+ALT+Num-
This cycles through the resolutions defined in xorg.conf.
You may not be able to work at the highest resolution, but you may still be able to see something at a smaller resolution

Enjoy ;)

shkval

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #26 on: October 07, 2008, 06:34:55 pm »

prefers xfec than gnome or kde

thankn's in advancce
« Last Edit: October 07, 2008, 06:41:27 pm by Raphael Burquet »
Logged

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: VectorLinux 6.0-alpha2 is ready to test!
« Reply #27 on: October 07, 2008, 07:37:26 pm »

Thank you, thank you, thank you for keeping XFCE as the default for 6.0..... I don't have anything against Gnome or KDE but both do have significant overhead by comparison.....

Again.....Thank you.

Oh we were just putting that in to tease your taste buds , before we switch back to Gnome  :D :D   .. J/K

Let us know how your test results turn out  :)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]