VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Signal Frequency Out of Range [SOLVED!!!] see last post!  (Read 14244 times)

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Signal Frequency Out of Range [SOLVED!!!] see last post!
« on: September 03, 2008, 08:09:19 am »

iiyama prolite E481S monitor
nvidia geforce 7300 LE

Hello,

I have been having trouble with my monitor resolution settings. I cannot set them to anything below 1024x786 as it keeps crashing and the screen going black with a blue box bouncing around the screen with the following error message :

attention signal frequency is out of range
H 80.9 khz V 65.2 Hz
Please change signal timing

I believe it is something to do with the vertsync and horizrefresh in the xorg.conf. I have messed about with these settings to no avail. I am tearing my hair out with these problem. I have finally found a linux distro I like Vector Linux. But I cannot play games in fullscreen with this problem.

P.s. as I am new to Vector Linux, I'm not sure i've posted this in the right topic section
« Last Edit: September 04, 2008, 07:44:35 am by trojan »
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2008, 09:21:59 am »

Google is your friend:

This was the google phrase: xorg iiyama prolite E481S monitor

The first post is an xorg setup dual screen but gets the point accross,
the second (being below is the actual monitor specs).

http://www.iiyama-bg.com/product.php?id=E481S-W3S&lang=eng

Set xorg to the right settings and you will be good to go.

Bigpaws
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2008, 09:22:37 am »

Do you have the HSync and VRefresh numbers from your monitor manual? They should be on the back page under Specifications. Then enter them in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, such as this:

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
DisplaySize 336 269 # 96 DPI @ 1280x1024 (non 4:3 aspect)
Option "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 79.9
VertRefresh 72
EndSection
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2008, 09:23:32 am »

Thanks for replying, ive been googling all day. I dont have a manual, as it was a gift from my brother.

Section "Monitor"
 # 96 DPI @ 1024x768
### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "IVM"
    ModelName      "PLE480/481"
    DisplaySize     269    201
    HorizSync       31.0 - 80.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
    Option         "UseEdidFreqs" "1"
#DisplaySize      380   300     # mm
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Thats the section I believe is causing the problem
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 09:27:05 am by trojan »
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2008, 09:24:36 am »

Anytime :)

Some google foo: use Slackware or linux before the hardware or
program.

Bigpaws
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2008, 09:28:06 am »

I dont understand u'r last comment
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2008, 09:44:21 am »

That was to help when you use Google. Sometimes called Google Foo.

Bigpaws
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2008, 09:46:23 am »

o i c :)

This is driving me nuts. I've had the same problem with other linux distros i've tried. So it must be the xorg, I would have thought. Tried the settings in that xorg.conf bigpaws still the same proble.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 10:58:53 am by trojan »
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2008, 11:48:31 pm »

Still having the same problem but thanks for leaving the posts guys.  :-[
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2008, 01:19:29 am »

Which type of connection to the monitor Digital or Analog
depends on the adapter 15 pin is analog.

Set the Horiz Sync correctly. It is off
Digital 31-80
Analog 24-80

Vertical Sync
55-75

I would comment out the EDID as well for a test.

Every time you make a change you need to restart the x server.

You need to be careful with these settings, having the wrong settings
can bork the monitor.

Bigpaws
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2008, 06:03:52 am »

Not really sure im guessing its analogue
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2008, 06:12:33 am »

Analog is a 15 pin connector,

There are two types of HDMI Digital and Analog
which depends on the cable if all pins are in place
then more than likely digital if not then it is an analog
signal.

Hint: An HDMI connector had blades as well as pins.

Bigpaws
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2008, 06:18:38 am »

Oh right thx Bigpaws. I tried both settings, its weird , now, I can run games full screen in 800x600@61 res, but not 1024x768 that still has the same error. I've tried contacting iiyama see if they can come up with anything. Thanks again for all you guys help. I'll let you know if iiyama can solve it.
Logged

trojan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2008, 07:37:42 am »

Solved it guys ( or rather iiyama did!!)

I set the HorizSync to 64khz and VertRefresh to 60 Hz and also changed the UseEdidFreqs from 1 to 0 and it worked!
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Signal Frequency Out of Range [SOLVED!!!] see last post!
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2008, 11:51:29 pm »

Persistence paid off.  :) Thank you for posting the solution. And kudos to iiyama, nice to see that customer service is not completely dead.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2