VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Install Vector on Fujitsu P1120 - no optical drives, no usb or network boot  (Read 3609 times)

Lifebook

Hi!
I would like to try out Vector Linux on my Fujitsu P1120 subnotebook. I am an absolute newb to Linux and to Vector especially.
The machine runs WinXP Home and Puppy Linux, which I managed to install with some pain, as a dual boot system.
However the machine has no optical drives, no usb or network boot is supported. The specs are:

Transmeta Crusoe TM 5800 @ 800 MHz
256 MB RAM
60 GB IDE HDD @ 7200 RPM

Is there any way for me to install Vector Linux on my system? I have not found any appropriate topics with the search fuction..

Thank you for your help in advance!

The Headacher

• Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: Install Vector on Fujitsu P1120 - no optical drives, no usb or network boot
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 09:27:40 am »

You should be able to do an "install from iso" install from puppy, here's some info that should help: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl59/manuals/vl5_installation_guide_en.html#iso_linux
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

Bruce B

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2008, 02:01:01 pm »

Lifebook,

In reading the instructions you were given. Based on my experience with Puppy and Vector Linux, I'll advise the following:

Puppy doesn't have the run levels and all that. I think, just boot to the command prompt using the puppy pfix=ram,nox argument.

I've haven't installed VL with using Live, but my guess is:

1) that you'll want to have a target partition already available for the install