VectorLinux
April 19, 2014, 12:51:34 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No icons after OpenOffice.org installation  (Read 3565 times)
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« on: September 15, 2008, 03:03:48 pm »

After installing the OpenOffice.org package, I noticed on the Office menu, none of the OpenOffice.org entries have icons next to them.

This is under Vector Light (5.9).
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 03:19:52 pm »

Which desktop environment are you using?  LXDE, JWM, or Fluxbox?  If this is LXDE the situation will self-correct the next time you login.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 03:43:09 pm »

I have no idea which desktop environment is being used.  I installed 5.9 Light, so I am using whatever installed as the default.  The blue (V Menu) icon at the lower left changes from blue to red when moused-over.

I have since rebooted and the icons are still not on the menu.



Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 03:49:23 pm »

There are three choices of desktop environment during installation.  I have to know which one you chose to help you.  You can also make the choice when you login or logout.  (A reboot is not needed.) 

Open a terminal window and type in:

ps aux | grep lx

If you get a line with lxpanel and a line with openbox you're running LXDE.  I believe that is the only one that auto-updates the menu at all.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2008, 03:56:26 pm »

lxpanel and openbox came up with that command.

LXDE




Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2008, 04:00:04 pm »

Hmmm... it worked perfectly for me in LXDE.  Did you install OpenOffice using gslapt or slapt-get?  Which version is installed?  Is it 2.4?  Lte me know.

lxpanel gets it's menu entries from .desktop files in /usr/share/applications.  If you're running the VL package for 2.4 we're going to have to look at those files.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2008, 04:06:48 pm »

Gslapt was used.

OpenOffice.org 2.4 was installed.


Logged
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2008, 09:47:04 pm »

I thought I would try using GSlapt on a fresh install of vl Light and see if I would get the same results as Edward.
And I did.  I used gslapt to install Openoffice 2.4. Oddly, enough there was two lines in gslapt offering it one in location
./office and one in location ./x-apps.

I choose the one in location ./office.

The download went without a hitch except there where no icons just as edward described.

I've included some pictures.
One shows the path that is given for the icon. From each .desktop in the openoffice family (that required a icon) I added...

/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/
infront of each of the openoffice.png files.  EX. Icon=/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/openofficeorg-20-writer.png

I also noticed Gimp had installed during a slapt-get --upgrade I had done earlier and it did not have an icon either.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 10:13:55 pm »

OK, I think I understand what is going on here.  The default path for icons in VL is /usr/share/pixmaps.  In VL Standard the icons for these apps are probably in that place from the beginning.  I'd bet it's an issue specific to Light.

I'll see if I can ping the packagers to redo thse .desktop files so that the icon location is specifically called and is available in al versions of VL.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2008, 12:58:14 pm »

Also confirming the lack of a GIMP icon on the Graphics menu after the updates.

When I installed OOo using Gslapt, there were two entries listed, one was OOo 2.1, the other was OO 2.4. 

Is there anything that has to be done to restore the icons, or will an update fix these?

« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 12:59:58 pm by edward » Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2008, 01:19:37 pm »

If you copy the icons into /usr/share/pixmaps they should automagically appear in your menu the next time you login.  No need to wait for someone to build a new package.

As already noted the OO and gimp icons are in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/


Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
edward
Member
*
Posts: 25


« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2008, 02:54:25 pm »

I had to copy/paste the icons as root, as it would not let me do it while logged in as a regular user.

The icons immediately showed up afterwards on the menu logged in as root, without having to logout first.  And logged in as a regular user, the icons are on that menu as well. 

Making progress.  Smiley


Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2008, 03:21:39 pm »

You are correct that system files have to be manipulated as root.  You do not have to logout and login as root to do it, though.  Read up on su, sudo , and gksu, which allow you to become root while logged in as yourself.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!