VectorLinux
August 27, 2014, 06:56:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A couple of questions on upgrading/installing packages  (Read 3288 times)
warpman
Member
*
Posts: 33


« on: September 21, 2008, 08:38:18 am »

I have just finish installing VL 5.9 on a new laptop. I would like to install KDE and upgrade Firefos and Thunderbird to its latest version. How do I go about this? Any help or info would be appreciated.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2008, 08:46:35 am »

You may use Gslapt or slapt-get and install it from VL repository. Try to enable the testing and pactches repository for extra or untested packages......
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 08:57:54 am »

You need to use the package manager, Slackware Apt.  This is gslapt in the GUI or slapt-get at the command line.  I'm going to assume you are going to use gslapt, which is in your menu under System Tools.  

As you probably noticed neither KDE nor Thunderbird are included so they will be found in our "extra" repository.  The latest Firefox, 3.0.1, is still in our "testing" repository and previous versions that came out after the iso was released are in "patches" since they were mostly security fixes.  You need to enable those three repositories if they aren't enabled already.  Once you're in glsapt click on Edit -> Preferences.  In the box that pops up click on the Sources tab.  The first four boxes should all be checked.  Then click OK.  gslapt will then ask if you want to reload the package list.  You need to do that.

Once that's done you'll have a complete list of available packages.  Type in whatever you like in the search box to find what you're looking for:  firefox, thunderbird, kde, etc...  You just check off the packages you want and click the Execute icon to install them.  gslapt will automatically find and install any dependencies you need.  Please note that there isn't a meta package for KDE.  You'll need to select all the components you want individually.

Once you're done it's a good idea to go back into the list of repositories and to disable "testing", the fourth box.  You're enabling that just to get firefox 3.0.1.  It's a bad idea to do system upgrades with testing enabled as that can cause breakage.

HTH,
Cait
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2008, 12:51:35 am »

Quote
The latest Firefox, 3.0.1, is still in our "testing" repository and previous versions that came out after the iso was released are in "patches" since they were mostly security fixes.

I think you'll have to remove firefox 2 using gslapt, and then install 3.0.1 afterwards.
This is because the 3.0 and 3.0.1 packages are called mozilla-firefox, instead of firefox.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2008, 10:03:09 am »

Errr... no.  The 3.0 package had problems and  was pulled.  The 3.0.1 package was rebuilt and is just named firefox.  It's in patches now and an ordinary upgrade should work.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2008, 10:28:20 am »

Sorry, didn't realise that.
Thanks!

(I still find the mozilla-firefox-3.0.1 package in the patches repo, though, together with the firefox-3.0.1 one. Not that it is a problem, as upgrades are possible, but you might want to pull the long-named one out).
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2008, 11:00:27 am »

I think you'll have to remove firefox 2 using gslapt, and then install 3.0.1 afterwards.
This is because the 3.0 and 3.0.1 packages are called mozilla-firefox, instead of firefox.

Errr... no.  The 3.0 package had problems and  was pulled.  The 3.0.1 package was rebuilt and is just named firefox.  It's in patches now and an ordinary upgrade should work.

Maybe I'm reading this wrong, but it seems that wcs's point may have been confobulated because of a typo.  I think were wcs put "...because 3.0 and 3.0.1 packages..." was supposed to read "...because 2.0 and 3.01 packages...".  Correct me if I'm wrong.

If that's the case, then I think there is not any worries.  IIRC, Firefox v2.x and v3.x can exist together without any problems.

Now I think I've made a mess of this thread Cheesy - sorry about that.

oh well,
newt
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2008, 11:58:14 am »

Sorry, didn't realise that.
Thanks!

(I still find the mozilla-firefox-3.0.1 package in the patches repo, though, together with the firefox-3.0.1 one. Not that it is a problem, as upgrades are possible, but you might want to pull the long-named one out).

Ummm... yeah, Vector did that.  I'll send him a note before I change things Smiley
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2008, 12:59:18 pm »

Great.
I meant 3.0 but that was my mistake, as that package isn't there anymore.  Smiley

All this package business can get confusing at times.
Especially when you don't know if a package is in the repo, because you have it installed but maybe it was taken out.

(incidentally, does anyone know of a quick way to see that using gslapt or slapt-get, without actually navigating to the directories on the repos?
Clicking on a package name that I have installed doesn't seem to tell me if it is still on the repo or not....
mmm, now that I think about it, if you can click "reinstall", it means that it is still available)
Logged
warpman
Member
*
Posts: 33


« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 02:25:47 pm »

Thank you all!!! I got the upgrades and installs. Thanks again!
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2874


WWW
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2008, 08:35:17 pm »

Glad it all worked.  In case you didn't notice new Firefox 3.0.2 and Seamonkey 1.1.12 packages were added to the testing repository today.  They are security issues in the older versions.  You may want to enable the testing repository and do one more set of upgrades.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!