VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]  (Read 2956 times)

caitlyn

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2880
    • The Linux Works
080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« on: September 25, 2008, 01:24:48 pm »

toothandnail has packaged the latest version of htop for VL 5.9 and VL 5.9.1.

Package: htop-0.8.1-i586-1vl59.tlz
MD5: 89abd651b1eaa926ff9599897040e2c0
Package Size: 54K
Installed Size: 160K

Sources: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/source/testing/base-apps/htop

Code: [Select]
htop: htop (an interactive process viewer)
htop:
htop: htop is an interactive process viewer like top. It displays system
htop: processes, and allows them to be killed or reniced. Unlike top, it
htop: is capable of killing multiple processes at once.
htop:
htop:
htop:
htop: License: GPL
htop: Authors: Hisham H. Muhammad
htop: Website: http://htop.sourceforge.net/

After testing this package, please take a moment and come back to this thread to let us know how it works for you.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 01:28:08 pm by caitlyn »
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 03:27:49 pm »

Error in gslapt.
htop depends on ncurses >= 5.6-i486-3 (not in the repo, so far as I can see).
Should be rebuilt against 5.6-i486-2.
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 03:55:04 pm »

Error in gslapt.
htop depends on ncurses >= 5.6-i486-3 (not in the repo, so far as I can see).
I can confirm this, same happened on 5.9.1 SOHO.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

caitlyn

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2880
    • The Linux Works
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 04:05:20 pm »

I've let the packager know.  Hopefully we'll have a replacement package soon.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 04:18:38 pm »

Thanks. I should add that it does work after forcing install.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

caitlyn

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2880
    • The Linux Works
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2008, 06:17:42 pm »

A revised package with a corrected dependency list has been posted.  Please do try installing this version of htop again.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2008, 08:46:34 pm »

Working fine.
Thank you.
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2008, 09:09:54 pm »

A potential issue concerns the .desktop file calling xterm.
This implies that the user has xterm installed. If he/she doesn't, it won't start from the menu (although xterm doesn't feature as a dependency):
Code: [Select]
Terminal=false
Exec=xterm -e htop

The previous version instead had:
Code: [Select]
Terminal=true
Exec=htop

Which, I guess, calls the "default terminal", making it a better option.
Logged

toothandnail

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2008, 09:01:20 am »

A potential issue concerns the .desktop file calling xterm.
This implies that the user has xterm installed. If he/she doesn't, it won't start from the menu (although xterm doesn't feature as a dependency):
Code: [Select]
Terminal=false
Exec=xterm -e htop

The previous version instead had:
Code: [Select]
Terminal=true
Exec=htop

Which, I guess, calls the "default terminal", making it a better option.

Ahh. I changed that after hitting a problem with one terminal - think it was KDE Konsole. It wouldn't work from the menu. On the other hand, Xterm is almost always installed, which makes it independent of the DE. Should have added a dep to xterm though. I'll fix that and upload a revised version....

Thanks for picking that up - forgot about the extra dep.

paul.
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2008, 05:39:06 pm »

I see. It makes perfect sense.
You had actually made clear that you had modified the .desktop file in the Packagers board, but I only saw it now.

I guess it would be possible to use an environment variable in the .desktop file, maybe:
Code: [Select]
Exec=$TERM htop
In my system, typing that in a console opens htop in xterm.
(Even though I'm using xfce, $TERM is set to xterm and not to the xfce Terminal)

I suppose that would open it in whatever the user decided to be the "default", without adding a mandatory dependency for a particular terminal.

(sorry for nipicking... after all, it is probably the case that almost everyone will have xterm installed)
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2008, 06:10:23 pm »

Just found a problem with my own solution.
If I set $TERM to the xfce Terminal, "$TERM htop" doesn't work, because it needs -x to execute a command.

xterm doesn't need this (and the option is actually -e)

So, not really a general solution for several terminals. Oh, well...
Logged

caitlyn

  • Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2880
    • The Linux Works
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2008, 10:20:46 am »

A revised package which addresses the terminal issue has been posted.

Package: htop-0.8.1-i586-2vl59.tlz
MD5: 5feb156d1e1da4aea72e3131e9e71f2f

Please let us know how the new package works for you.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2008, 07:18:25 pm »

I haven't found any problems on my 5.9 Deluxe laptop.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: 080925 htop-0.8.1 [VL 5.9]
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2008, 12:29:18 am »

Working fine. Thanks!
Logged