VectorLinux
November 24, 2014, 01:18:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing Vector on Tosh Tecra 520cdt .tlz failiure  (Read 8330 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2008, 11:35:11 am »

I'm not sure I understand the question correctly, but...  these are not live CDs.  They are regular installable isos.  You put them into a bootable CD-ROM drive and the installer comes up at boot.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2008, 08:59:38 am »

hmmmm..... ok then i have a problem somewhere then, the machine used to liked the 5.9 iso, but hasa non bootable disk error when i try to run the mini and 5.9.1 light version. how can i nest this into the 2GB HD and get round the CDrom error. i ahve gone onto pendrivelinux and looked at the howto for the USB install through windows to add knoppix, from what i can tell it puts syslinux on and a few other files, then has a batch command that unpacks the ISO. this seems to go OK when i tried knoppix and it doesnt throw up any bloopers when i substitute vector either, but when i put the drive back in the machine it comes up with non - bootable HD.
although the 5.9.1 when unpacked only takes up just under a Gig which is good
Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #17 on: October 28, 2008, 09:14:00 am »

I'm just coming into this thread so perhaps my comments are near-sighted.....

A typical full install of VL 5.9.1 Standard should be >2.1Gb, VL 5.9.1 SOHO should be >3.1Gb, VL 5.9.1 Light should be >1.8Gb so coming up with just under a gig can be a problem point.

Also, perhaps the non-bootable HDD disk error you're encountering is related to no boot loader (i.e. missing lilo, grub, or another boot loader).  If a hard drive does not have a valid boot loader installed then the error messages you could receive range from: non-bootable disk to some random error message determined by the boot loader.

My understanding of how you've installed VL is as such:
Pull the hard drive out of the main machine (laptop, I think)
Put in another machine
Unpack the VL CD onto the hard drive
Put hard drive back in original machine
Attempt to boot and receive error message.

Is that the process or is there more detail to it that you can add/correct?

Cheers!
Logged
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2008, 04:49:20 am »

resonably near to the point Smiley
here we go:
Pull the hard drive out of the main machine (laptop - Tosh Tecra 520cdt, 98 MBram, 2gb HD)
Put in another machine (yes into a USB HD caddy, delete partitions to wipe etc) on pendrive linux there are a couple of files used in the knoppix installation that puts the syslinux files and others on. (i assume these are the bootables you talk about.)
http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2007/01/01/usb-knoppix-510/

http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2008/06/13/usb-knoppix-531-install-using-windows/

 
Unpack the VL CD onto the hard drive (within the pendrive knoppix 5.3.1 howto there is a unpack batch file, unless there is another you reccommend)

Put hard drive back in original machine (yes)
Attempt to boot and receive error message. (bang on the money)

any suggestions as to where i'm going wrong.

on a previous install fresh from blatting the win2k off the drive it ran,unpacked the iso via the installer script and hit the .tlz error, since it has not liked the drive after format. please let me know what files i need as a minimum as i assume it will not just boot from a formatted Fat32 drive. note the drive has had Lowlevel format, new Fat32 partition to try t0 fix this
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 05:54:20 am by petebarchetta » Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4029



« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2008, 05:30:01 am »

I'm somewhat confused about the "unpacking" of the iso to the hard drive. Are you using a Knoppix script on the VL iso?

Anyways, I don't think your procedure installs LILO at any point.

If you can boot off a floppy, this procedure may be of interest:
http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=7363.0
You can also use the floppies to boot an existing installation, albeit with the smaller kernel that is on the floppies. To do so, wait until it asks you to continue install, then hit Ctrl-c and verify terminating the batch file. Then run command
loadlin linux root=/dev/hda2 ro
This is assuming you installed to hda2, it may be hda1 instead.

If this works, you can then run "vliloconf" to install LILO.
Logged
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2008, 04:30:06 pm »

well....on the pluss side, i have 3 disks each with the vlinst files on them, the external floppy drive kicks in through the bios settings. so i have a good feeling Smiley
on a different note i put the 5.9.1 light iso on the 520 with the 160mb and the 40gb drive and it loads up to the splash screen?Huh?and thast without booting from the floppies, then has drive errors. both machines are NTFS filesystems, both have 98mb+ ram
so i'm bamboozled.

i'll give the 3 disks a go on the 2gb drive and see how it goes
Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2008, 07:57:39 pm »

You're not trying to install into an NTFS filesystem are you?  That is most definitely NOT supported.  You have to create and format at least one Linux filesystem.  Ideally you should have at least three:  one for / (root), one for /home, and one for swap.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #22 on: October 30, 2008, 02:20:24 am »

ah, could be the source of all my problems..... i see where your coming from. i have a qtparted rescue disk, i'll create 3 partitions then HDA#1 HDB#2 and HDC#3
assume HDA is the main one 1.1GB
Swap HDB#2 at double the ram (160mb) 320mb
rest of HD for HDC#3 circa 500mb
so in effect the drive need to be prepped in linux form before the install,

i tried the boot disks i made, but they hang at the freedos prompt, and go no further. althought a CTRL,Alt,DEL gives me a boot to the splash screen, then

the error i get is ........ISOlinux: Disk error 20, AX = 4200, drive 82
that is using the SATA/ ide  kernel
i assume there is a translation?

just a thought, but is it due to the kernel?
maybe the kernel is too new for the machine? 5.9 runs the 2.6 kernel, isn there anywhere hosing the 2.4 releases of vector?
« Last Edit: October 30, 2008, 04:29:47 am by petebarchetta » Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4029



« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2008, 04:54:24 am »

From what I can find (google), that error is associated with boot failures, often caused by bad burns, dirty discs or bad drives.

Does the parted rescue disk work, allowing you to partition the disk?
With only 2 G, I'd only use two partition, one for / and the other for swap.
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #24 on: October 30, 2008, 08:06:04 am »

the error i get is ........ISOlinux: Disk error 20, AX = 4200, drive 82

You have a faulty hard drive. Burn an ISO of the UltimateBootCD and run the hard drive testing software appropriate to the manufacturer of that hard drive. I'll bet you get errors. Then you will know for sure your hard drive is toast. Sorry, but I do think that is the reason for that error.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #25 on: October 30, 2008, 10:35:54 am »

Until you test your hard drive this may be irrelevant, but...

I've run the 2.6.x kernels on machines that are 10-12 years old with no problems.  No, the age of the kernel has nothing to do with uit.  Linux has excellent legacy support.

1.1GB for root is way too small.  VL Mini would completely fill it with no space for temp files or anything else.  That won't run.  You need ~1.4MB at a minimum. 
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #26 on: October 30, 2008, 02:58:06 pm »

ah, could be the source of all my problems..... i see where your coming from. i have a qtparted rescue disk, i'll create 3 partitions then HDA#1 HDB#2 and HDC#3
assume HDA is the main one 1.1GB
Swap HDB#2 at double the ram (160mb) 320mb
rest of HD for HDC#3 circa 500mb
so in effect the drive need to be prepped in linux form before the install,

i tried the boot disks i made, but they hang at the freedos prompt, and go no further. althought a CTRL,Alt,DEL gives me a boot to the splash screen, then

the error i get is ........ISOlinux: Disk error 20, AX = 4200, drive 82
that is using the SATA/ ide  kernel
i assume there is a translation?

just a thought, but is it due to the kernel?
maybe the kernel is too new for the machine? 5.9 runs the 2.6 kernel, isn there anywhere hosing the 2.4 releases of vector?


i did have Damn small linux on the machine, but found that limitting, it was the 4.4.2 release, which runs the 2.4 kernel, that loaded and installed without fuss. hence my relevance of asking the kernel versions. i'll download UBCD and test the drive.
thanks all for your input
Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
petebarchetta
Member
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #27 on: November 03, 2008, 04:54:39 am »

hello all,

the UBCD, gave the drive the all clear.....Woot Grin
i have installed VL mini, all ran ok, got the ok prompt to reboot and started up ok,
problem is when it jumps into the OS (gets past the Lilo option) after it does its penguin logo login, it goes blank, so i do a Fn-F5 (tosh laptop screen toggle). it then comes up with five overlapped windows all hazed together. looks like a xconf issue. you can type, btu its looks like its at the login screen
that aside as i know VL mini is unsupported.
i tried VL 5.9.1 light posted further up the thread, it installs correctly, but near the end i get the error
"128x128 cannot find file"
so the .TLZ issue remedies itself looked to be a partition to be too small, although i think the error i get now maybe linked. can i get your ideas people???
Logged

Toshiba Tecra 520cdt (P166mmx,160mb ram, 40gb sata HD-  VL 5.9 Final (in progress)
Compaq DeskproEN (PIII733,384mb ram, 20gb HD) - Debian (knoppix 5.1)
Toshiba Tecra M3 - XP Sad
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4029



« Reply #28 on: November 03, 2008, 05:56:14 am »

The "128x128" error message is a nuisance warning which I think is caused by a script looking for some non-existent icons. No further issues have been reported in that regard and the warning can safely be ignored.

Looks like the install completed successfully this time, but there are some configuration issues to remedy. First thing to do is make sure that you can get to the command line and work from there. Select "Linux TUI" from the boot menu and log in. Does that work okay?
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #29 on: November 03, 2008, 02:08:53 pm »

vxconf doesn't work well with a lot of Toshiba laptops, including mine.  My advice is to, as nightflier suggested, boot into text mode.  Then su to root and:

cd /etc/X11
cp xorg.conf xorg.conf.save
cp xorg.conf-fbdev xorg.conf

That will give you a xorg.conf that works with most older Toshiba laptops.  Try starting X again with the command:

startx

and let us know if that works.  You may have to pass an addition argument to the kernel as well to specify fbdev at 800x600 but first try without.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!