Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Supertux  (Read 5716 times)

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Supertux
« on: September 27, 2008, 05:12:56 am »
I have 5.9.1 running well on my old Gateway pc, with it's nVidia fx5200 and ancient 1.2Mhz cpu.

I downloaded and installed Supertux, but cannot play it because it defaults to the full screen
mode which freezes the graphics;  efforts to go to the configure tool on the screen result in
the cursor just remaining frozen for a time, then suddenly jumping to a corner or other area
of the screen.

I need to know if it is possible to edit a file somewhere so I can have the game start in non-
full screen mode.  I found the .supertux2 file in my home folder, but it is empty (yes, I have
"view hidden files" enabled).  A search for "supertux" yielded only the executable in /usr/bin
and the /usr/share group of files which I don't want to mess with unless somebody here can
tell me if one of those is the right one to edit.

Any help on this is appreciated.   :)

  - Jerry

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Supertux
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2008, 07:20:19 am »
try running it from a terminal and adding -w to the command

dawnsboy

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: Supertux
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2008, 07:26:09 am »
Another possible solution is passing the geometry parameter at the command line.  Supertux will remember this option.  Start Supertux in the following manner from the command line:

supertux -g 640x480

Substitute the desired resolution for the one shown in the example.
Custom Mini-Itx - VL6.0 Light

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Supertux
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2008, 06:30:41 am »
try running it from a terminal and adding -w to the command

Thank you and dawnsboy for your informative and helpful advice. 

Alas the old fx5200 card is just too wimpy for the new supertux;  even a screen
resolution of 640x480 did not speed it up much, although I did see a little
difference.

 - Jerry

dawnsboy

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: Supertux
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2008, 07:36:45 am »
Quote
Alas the old fx5200 card is just too wimpy for the new supertux;  even a screen
resolution of 640x480 did not speed it up much, although I did see a little
difference.

 :-\

I can run supertux on my little box with lesser specs than the ones you quoted (900MHz mobile cpu & Intel 915 Graphics).  Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
Custom Mini-Itx - VL6.0 Light

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Supertux
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2008, 09:04:53 am »
Quote
Alas the old fx5200 card is just too wimpy for the new supertux;  even a screen
resolution of 640x480 did not speed it up much, although I did see a little
difference.

 :-\

I can run supertux on my little box with lesser specs than the ones you quoted (900MHz mobile cpu & Intel 915 Graphics).  Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

Supertux 3?  (or .0.3.0 or whatever it is)

dawnsboy

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: Supertux
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2008, 07:38:35 pm »
Quote
Supertux 3?  (or .0.3.0 or whatever it is)

The developer of Supertux considers this version to be unstable.  It is the current developmental release on the road to the Milestone 2 version of Supertux.  The developer recommends downloading the 1.3 (last Milestone 1 version) if you want to "play the game".

I have the Milestone 1 release.
Custom Mini-Itx - VL6.0 Light

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Supertux
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2008, 02:38:35 am »
Quote
Supertux 3?  (or .0.3.0 or whatever it is)

The developer of Supertux considers this version to be unstable.  It is the current developmental release on the road to the Milestone 2 version of Supertux.  The developer recommends downloading the 1.3 (last Milestone 1 version) if you want to "play the game".

I have the Milestone 1 release.

My laptop will not handle Vector ('nother issue:  wireless), so I run the latest Supertux unstable version in Vista on this and it works fine.  The old pc, however, hasn't been able to handle Supertux past the 1.3 version. 

I'll just have to download the old Supertux for the pc from somewhere I guess.