VectorLinux
September 22, 2014, 05:58:58 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: USB Scanner help  (Read 5314 times)
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« on: September 30, 2008, 06:12:02 am »

Hi Folks,

I installed a HP PSC 1210. I then installed Gimp and xsane. When I run xsane it says "No devices available".

How do I let xsane know I have an HP 1210 on USB?

I tried to reboot with the scanner on and no luck. The 1210 works fine with Vector as a printer.

I checked to see how many xsane's are installed, (which -a xsane), there is one in /usr/bin and one in /usr/x11/bin.

How does one uninstall the /usr/x11/bin copy?

I tried Gsalpt to uninstall an in Gslapt it says xsane is in /mnt/hdd2/root/pseudo/iso/packages/x-apps/xsane-0.994-i486-1.tlz
There is no /mnt/hdd2 directory in my VL file system.

What am I missing?
Thanks
P
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2008, 06:35:34 am »

Quote
I tried Gsalpt to uninstall an in Gslapt it says xsane is in /mnt/hdd2/root/pseudo/iso/packages/x-apps/xsane-0.994-i486-1.tlz
There is no /mnt/hdd2 directory in my VL file system.

That just means that the package came in the stock VL install.
That you did not install it from the repos later.

I wouldn't worry about the two binaries for xsane. They're exactly the same file.

Your device does not seem to be on sane's list of supported devices, but you should double check.
http://www.sane-project.org/sane-supported-devices.html
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2008, 07:50:16 am »

Thanks WCS,
I'll have to wait.
P
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2008, 07:59:27 am »

According to HPLIP the device is supported (printing, scanning, usb, etc) quite well by various distros, however slackware is NOT one of them: http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/models/psc/psc_1200_series.html

I find it hard to believe that this device is so well supported by hplip on other distros, but not slackware.  With support being so good on other distros I believe that support on VL can be as good.

Let's start with: when you installed VL did you install the hplip package?
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2008, 08:50:09 am »

Hi Newtor,

Yes hplip is installed. So is xsane and gimp, which is needed by xsane.
The HP PSC 1210 works as a printer but will not scan.

A Google search turned up a site that suggests installing hpoj ...
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/setup-hp-psc-1315-1310-scanner-275259/
I think this is the predesessor to hplip. Not sure though.

There are slackware users that seem to have this scanner working but I can't tell how.

Thanks
p
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2008, 09:16:24 am »

What happens when you start the HP Device Manager?
I suppose it shows the device, but do you see any scanner tabs?
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2008, 09:22:45 am »

What happens when you start the HP Device Manager?
I suppose it shows the device, but do you see any scanner tabs?

Just about to ask the same question Grin
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2008, 09:26:21 am »

That page certainly is weird, newtor...
Scanner working on Debian 2.2 (released in 2000), but not on Slack 12.1  Huh  Huh
Getouttahere.
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2008, 10:16:35 am »

I went to menu/accessories/hp device manager and it will not run.
In a terminal window I looked for the hp device manager process and did not see it.

Thanks
P

Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2008, 10:36:39 am »

Run /usr/share/hplip/toolbox.py
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2008, 10:51:37 am »

In a terminal window I typed ...
/usr/share/hplip/toolbox.py
Returned "file not found"

I checked /usr/share/hplip and there is a toolbox file but its properties says it is a Python script.

I am doing something wrong?
Thanks
P
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2008, 11:25:48 am »

try: python /usr/share/hplip/toolbox.py

maybe that will work better
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2008, 11:32:48 am »

Doesn't work.
"Can't open file. error 2 No such file ..."

I tried python toolbox and it seemed to run and returned ...

"HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 1.7.4a)
HP Device Manager ver. 10.0

Copyright (c) 2001-7 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

error: Unable to connect to HPLIP I/O (hpiod)."

the 1210 was on and connected through usb.

Any ideas?

« Last Edit: September 30, 2008, 11:40:14 am by phreon » Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2008, 11:41:37 am »

I apologize about the runaround - I do not have any HP devices and have never used hplip.  However, I was able to determine that the hplip daemon needs to be running before the toolbox will open.

so, try this:
as root: chmod a+x /etc/rc.d/rc.hplip
as root: ./etc/rc.d/rc.hplip start
as user: /usr/share/hplip/toolbox

As an alternative to the last line, you can try starting the HP device manager via the xfce menu.  This worked for me.
Logged
phreon
Member
*
Posts: 52


« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2008, 12:06:34 pm »

YeeeeeHaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

OK Newtor,
That worked.
Now the HP device manager works from the menu and xsane starts from /usr/bin by clicking on the icon.

This should be in How To for HP devices.
If you do, please describe what permissions chmod changed and why you had to start rc.hplip from /etc/rc.d

Great job man.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!