VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: At long last!  (Read 15488 times)

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #30 on: October 08, 2008, 10:05:26 pm »

After a bit more research I found out that udev is case sensitive and all letters need to be lowercase - doh!!  Please edit your rule and make all letters lowercase, and another reboot.
Code: [Select]
KERNEL=="eth?", SYSFS{address}=="00:03:b3:00:66:db", NAME="eth0"
KERNEL=="eth?", SYSFS{address}=="00:21:91:21:cf:ab", NAME="eth1"
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #31 on: October 09, 2008, 05:08:12 am »

We are making progress!  Changed to lower case, put both NICs in and I'm on the internet.

The only problem, the second NIC doesn't show-up in ifconfig -a???
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #32 on: October 09, 2008, 08:34:52 am »

Very strange. Does it show in lspci?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #33 on: October 09, 2008, 08:40:31 am »

Yes:
00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
00:0b.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6105 [Rhine-III] (rev 86)
root:# ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:03:B3:00:66:DB 
          inet addr:75.94.15.38  Bcast:75.94.63.255  Mask:255.255.192.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:64102 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7315 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:104 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:23190502 (22.1 MiB)  TX bytes:1436756 (1.3 MiB)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd400

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #34 on: October 09, 2008, 09:07:31 am »

perhaps it's just not up.  Does 'ifconfig eth1 up' bring it up?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #35 on: October 09, 2008, 09:45:08 am »

root:# ifconfig eth1 up
eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #36 on: October 09, 2008, 09:47:20 am »

and the card has power indicating it is hooked to the switch
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #37 on: October 09, 2008, 10:09:22 am »

Is it possible that you made a typo when you adjusted the letters to lowercase?  Or maybe added an extra space somewhere it shouldn't be?

Can you post the output from: cat /etc/udev/rules.d/98-network-devices.rules ?
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #38 on: October 09, 2008, 10:34:33 am »

KERNEL=="eth?", SYSFS{address}=="00:03:b3:00:66:db", NAME="eth0"
KERNEL=="eth?", SYSFS{address}=="00:21:91:21:cf:ab", NAME="eth1"
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #39 on: October 09, 2008, 12:02:47 pm »

I wanted to test this process myself so I added another ethernet device to my system and perform the udev rules to make them switch places.  It worked as expected; what was once eth0 became eth1 and vice-versa.

This leads me to believe that perhaps some of your previous changes (maybe via VASM) changed _something_ that's causing this udev/rules method to not work quite as expected.  My suggestion is to (if possible) undo changes you've made in the past, excluding the udev rules that you just made and whatever changes you made to make your internet work (leave those couple changes as-is).  Any changes in vasm, any configuration file changes, hosts changes, etc - undo those and reboot.

The other opton is to hope someone else reads this thread with clear vision that can see exactly where you need to go in order to get both devices working effectively.

I can assure you that once you get both devices working correctly you won't be needing to monkey with them anymore - in fact, over time, you'll forget all the necessary steps to get them working correctly ;D.  So.... once you get it figured out be sure to write down the necessary steps.

Cheers!
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #40 on: October 09, 2008, 02:12:42 pm »

I appreciate you working with me on this,  As I said in my first post, I've been trying for over ten years to get Linux going.  On this machine, it even powers off on shut-down.  The old windows just rebooted!

What I'll do is save the udev rules file, and reinstall the whole system again.  That way, I don't have to ask how to change the browser .  I tried Seamonkey the first time and tried Opera this time.  Seamonkey works better for me.  Just wish I could figure out how to have the NumLock on when Linux starts.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #41 on: October 09, 2008, 04:18:33 pm »

VL5.9 has been reinstalled.  /etc/udev/rules.d/98-network-devices.rules has been restored.  eth0 with DHCP now connects to the internet but I cannot get eth1 set to static 192.168.0.1 using vasm from terminal, when I try to ping 192.168.0.1, the return is
   "PING 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
     From 209.63.202.53 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable"
the same result with ping 192.168.0.2 (the other machine on the local net).
netstat -i returns:
  "Kernel Interface table
    Iface   MTU Met   RX-OK RX-ERR RX-DRP RX-OVR    TX-OK TX-ERR TX-DRP TX-OVR Flg
    eth0   1500 0     14975      0      0      0      981      0      0      0 BMNRU
    lo    16436 0         2      0      0      0        2      0      0      0 LRU"
Should I start SAMBA (the other machine is Win2000)?  Or, am I missing another step?
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: At long last!
« Reply #42 on: October 09, 2008, 05:34:07 pm »

I assume that both ethernet devices are showing correctly with ifconfig, correct?  If so, and eth0 is behaving properly then I _think_ the next step is to set up a persistent route for eth1 to handle all local network connections.  In other words, route all local network connections (192.168.0.x) to the router which will handle appropriate routing from there.  This should be able to be done via the 'route' command.  I've never had to use this command so I'm basing the syntax on the help file.  You should issue 'route' as a command to view the routing table before you start.

Example)
route add -net 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 dev eth1

To me, this translates as:
Add a rule to the system to route all local network (192.168.0.x) connections through device eth1.

But, again, I've never needed to use this command and cannot guarantee that it will work.  If your router does not use DHCP then you will need to set a static IP for eth1, however if your router used DHCP then you can set eth1 up like you did eth0.

edit:
I also want to comment on your not being able to set eth1 to 192.168.0.1.  Generally the first IP address in a local network is assigned to the router.  So, perhaps, if you're trying to set eth1 to 192.168.0.1 you're running into trouble because that IP address is already on the network (i.e. 192.168.0.1 is probably your router).  Of course, your network can be as customized as you want so this may not be the case.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2008, 05:36:58 pm by newtor »
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #43 on: October 09, 2008, 07:50:20 pm »

Eureka!  I'm not quite sure what I did.  But I can now ping 192.168.0.2 through eth1 AND get on the internet through eth0.

I ran the command that you gave and recieved "Network not running" or something like that. (The notes that I was keeping did NOT get saved before the crash!)  After trying some other commands, I tried switch the cables between the modem and the switch.  The result was that neither the mouse nor the keyboard would work!  I wound up hitting the reset button!!! :-{  Booted into TUI changed the settings in vasm and was able to ping nt2k (the win2000 machine).  Unfortunately, eth1 (now to the modem) wouldn't show up in vasm (although it did in ifdonfig and lspci).

Shut down the machine, switched the cables back where they belonged, booted to TUI to change the settings, startx, restored /etc/hosts, was able to get on the internet AND
root:# ping -c 3 -I eth1 192.168.0.2
PING 192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.2) from 192.168.0.1 eth1: 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.434 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.265 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.2: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=0.271 ms

--- 192.168.0.2 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms

In regard to your comment, and I regret that I lost my notes as I had described my network in it.  Try again

router vector  10/100 switch  workstations
         []---------[]-------------[]
         |            \------------[]
modem    []

The switch doesn't do anything with the ip address.  This machine will be the router as soon as I get SAMBA running so that the workstations (Linux|Windows) can use shared data space, printer, and internet.  The workstations are currently Win95 - Win2000 but I'll start switching the newer ones to Linux.  I think I'm stuck with Win95 on the older ones as there isn't enough ram and they're not upgradable.

Now to figure out how to get the NumLock to stay on!

A big thank you to the whole team, not only helping me with this new operating system, guiding me while I learned some of the commands (big difference from DOS), your EXTREME patience, and keeping me motivated to "keep on keeping on!"

I have been looking at several distributions, always favoring Slackware, got a few to install, or run as the case may be.  I was attempting to download Slack 12 when I found VL4 Live better suited to my 18 years of Windows and 5.9 fits even better!

We can mark this case closed and I thank you all again.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: At long last!
« Reply #44 on: October 10, 2008, 08:20:24 am »

PS:  I did have one anomaly that I have corrected.  I turned off the pc last night after posting the preceding.  When I turned it on this morning, it failed to get the IP address from the DHCP.  I found the solution in VASM by removing Link1 and Link2 (Static and DHCP) the adding the DHCP connection first then the static one.  All is well.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
Pages: 1 2 [3]