Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu...[SOLVED]  (Read 2450 times)

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Change OS names in Lilo boot menu...[SOLVED]
« on: October 08, 2008, 09:25:07 pm »
One more, maybe silly, question...
I have three OS installed on my Laptop for education purposes.

They are:
'WindowsXP', 'VectorLinux' and 'PuppyLinux'

In the lilo boot menu they show up as:
'Win' , 'linux' and 'linux-hda5'

My thought was to edit /etc/lilo.conf and change the labels there, but it's not working that way!

What is the right procedure to change the names/labels in the boot menu?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2008, 01:52:15 pm by Cariboo »
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 09:47:59 pm »
edit lilo as you have; making sure to adjust the 'default=' as appropriate.  THEN, as root, issue 'lilo -v' and make sure there are no errors (warnings are okay; errors are not).

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2008, 07:35:06 am »
edit lilo as you have; making sure to adjust the 'default=' as appropriate.  THEN, as root, issue 'lilo -v' and make sure there are no errors (warnings are okay; errors are not).
Is it to much to ask if you could check my attached lilo.conf and correct it if necessary ?
Thanks
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2008, 08:10:36 am »
Just make: default = linux
read: default = Vector-linux (or Puppy-linux, or WindowsXP - whichever you want to be default)

HTH!

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2008, 08:23:43 am »
Just make: default = linux
read: default = Vector-linux (or Puppy-linux, or WindowsXP - whichever you want to be default)
HTH!
Sorry for being a bit slow today....
you mean in the 6th line from top of lilo.conf I have to have default = Vector-linux (or any other)  ???
I don't exactly understand what it means---: make: default = linux and ....: read default = Vector-linux
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2008, 08:47:01 am »
No worries.  I could have explained it a bit better.

On the 6th line of your lilo.conf you need the value (default = <value>) to match one of your labels further down (Vector-linux, Puppy-linux, WindowsXP).  If it does not match one of your labels then lilo will not be updated properly and you will receive an error.  Once you finish making the change to lilo.conf you will need to run 'lilo -v' as root to actually implement the changes you've made, and it's during this update that you'll be shown warnings/errors (warnings are okay, errors are not).

In other words:

default = linux

should become

default = Vector-linux

Cariboo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 289
Re: Change OS names in Lilo boot menu
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2008, 01:51:50 pm »
Excellent, excellent...Thanks, newtor ...it worked exactly as you said :)
« Last Edit: October 10, 2008, 10:43:15 am by Cariboo »
Life is full of setbacks; Success is measured by the way you deal with them!