VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 06:45:30 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error while compiling Kino 1.3.2 [SOLVED]  (Read 1605 times)
gijii
Member
*
Posts: 28


« on: October 12, 2008, 10:08:11 am »

Hi all,

I am configuring my new SOHO Deluxe 5.9.1.
I am trying to compile some programs.
While compiling Kino 1.3.2, when I checkinstall -L I receive the following message:

tar:<some directory somewhere>: Cannot utime: No such file or directory

I googled around but I did not find something useful to address this issue.
Does anybody know the reason of this error message?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2008, 11:57:27 pm by gijii » Logged

Vectorlinux Soho 5.8, Kernel 2.6.21-ck2. AMD Athlon XP 2.4, 1 GB ram, 320 Gb HD
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2008, 10:50:07 am »

It helps better to know the output more accurately. I am assuming, that you'll need to make <some directory somewhere>, then try the checkinstall again.

For what it's worth, this application is included on the MMBD.
Logged
gijii
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2008, 11:22:13 am »

I know that Kino 1.3.0 is included in the MMBD.  Since the 1.3.2 version is a bugfix version and since I am doing a fresh install, I was willing to have the system most up to date.
Regarding the <some directory somewhere > I omitted that because that message refers to not just one line but to many lines and I did not believed useful to past all of them.
Anyway, I tried again to compile it, but instead of checkinstall -L to make a package I just made a "make install". No errors and Kino 1.3.2 compiled and working.
I suspected that Checkinstall could be involved in this problem because I tried to compile other packages and I encountered a lot of problems. So far, I have always used Vector/Slackware because they are very good environments to compile programs.
Do you think that my idea that the problem can be in Checkinstall is right?

Logged

Vectorlinux Soho 5.8, Kernel 2.6.21-ck2. AMD Athlon XP 2.4, 1 GB ram, 320 Gb HD
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2008, 01:23:44 pm »

More likely it's something you have given to checkinstall, i.e. a syntax error in an option.  I used to use checkinstall all the time until VL demanded that packages submitted for the repo be built with a standard script.  I still use it for packages I won't be submitting and anytime I have had an error it was an error I made rather than a bug in checkinstall. 

Again, if you want us to understand this you need to post the command you issued and the full output.  Otherwise I don't see how anyone can figure it out.  Bottom line:  if make install worked then checkinstall can work as well.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2288


« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2008, 03:46:07 pm »

Try checkinstall -L --fstrans=no
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
gijii
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2008, 02:14:05 pm »

I used the suggested option for checkinstall
checkinstall -L --fstrans=no

Kino compiled correctly and works fine.
Could anybody explain the reason of the --fstrans=no option?
Should I use it for every package?
Thanks rbistolfi
Logged

Vectorlinux Soho 5.8, Kernel 2.6.21-ck2. AMD Athlon XP 2.4, 1 GB ram, 320 Gb HD
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2288


« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2008, 08:06:16 pm »

It's about a bug that prevents checkinstall to work in Slacware 12 and its derivatives as VectorLinux 5.9
More info here: http://www.asic-linux.com.mx/~izto/checkinstall/
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!