VectorLinux
July 24, 2014, 03:52:04 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: New install with no ethernet or wifi  (Read 5930 times)
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« on: October 16, 2008, 12:09:55 pm »

I am new to Vector linux.  I have pentium 4 laptop that I want to use as a netbook and am having trouble getting a distro together that handles wifi.

Firstly, Vector linux doesnt seem to recognize my eth0 connection that is auto with other distros.  It also doesn't connect wirelessly.  Other distros all have that problem.

It is vector standard gold 5.9

I tried following the wireless howto but it ended when i tried the lspci command.  I tried
Quote
sudo lspci

Quote
command not found


I don't think I left anything out of the installation.

The wireless card is supposedly well supported.  It is the Airlink 101 awlh 4130 in bright green.

I would love to get ethernet working ASAP so that trouble shooting from the laptop could be more easily accomplished with cut and paste from the command line output..
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 12:32:11 pm »

First thing to do is drop the "sudo lspci" stuff

in VL, you're either root or your'e not.. so su to the root account
Code:
su
<password>
then execute your lspci command
post the output here
also post the output of ifconfig
Logged

bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2008, 12:34:34 pm »

You need to run lspci as root. So in a terminal use su and then enter
root password.

Actually listing the laptop name, and model # would help with
googling.

The wireless appears to need to use madwifi. You can check out
madwifi.org.

You can also look at Linux laptops which may have information to help
get you going.

Bigpaws
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2869


WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2008, 12:35:20 pm »

@M0E-lnx:  Huh?Huh  I use sudo all the time.  

Code:
sudo /sbin/lspci

will definitely work if he has sudo configured correctly.

What type of ethernet chipset does that laptop have for wired networking?  Can you provide the brand name and model of the laptop?
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3178



« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2008, 12:49:46 pm »

Sudo will only work after tweaking a VL installation to make that happen... seems he's just finished installing, out of the box, sudo doesn't work on VL
Logged

cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2008, 02:00:03 pm »

Excellent!  thank you!  the "su" did the trick.  I am currently following the walkthrough for the wifi set up with all the tools at my command.

I would love to post the lspci output(it worked!) but right now my ethernet doesnt connect.  I pulled up the pc specs on the web and i didnt find out much about the ethernet card.

it is a jetbook model 9400a (also under the manufacturer name jetta)

Here is a listing of the older models

I tried setting up my network manually after the dhcp didn't work.

It is a vanilla wired set-up with my router at 192.168.0.1 and a subnet of 255.255.255.0  Vector seemed real keen on making sure my pc name to the network was "vector.linux.net"  Thats not showing up on my router's web page when I look at my live network.  I don't really know how a ping works but in vector at the command line i typed
Quote
ping 192.168.0.1

and
Quote
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq(n+1 every sec) ttl=64 time=0.038-45 ms

Does that mean anything?
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2008, 03:11:15 pm »

i ran lspci and my ethernet card is a realtek semiconductor rtl-8139/8139c/8139
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1843


« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2008, 04:09:19 pm »

Quote
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq(n+1 every sec) ttl=64 time=0.038-45 ms

That shows a response from your router, hence the ethernet card
is connected.

Bigpaws
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2008, 05:19:04 pm »

Still no internet for me.

I did some additional research and found some common issues people had with the 8139too module (the one loaded in /etc/modprobe.conf) and the 2.6 kernel.

8139too or 8139cp?
8139too not working in 2.6?

it looks like my kernal is 2.6.22.14 ( i ran modinfo e100)

Wirelessly speaking...

I have the ath_pci module loaded.  That looks like the right one for ar5212 chipsets like mine.

But an updated one, ath5k is shipping with vector 6.0

Since I cant get the ath_pci working, when I get the eth0 connected, will I be able to download the ath5k module and get wireless working?

Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2008, 05:42:22 pm »

If you can ping a host, then there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with your card or connection.

Try
Code:
ping 216.239.59.103

It will keep on pinging, then hit ctrl-c to cancel and it will tell you how many packets were transmitted.
If this works, there's no need to worry about anything like modules and kernels and the like.

Maybe a dns problem?...
Try
Code:
ping www.google.com

It's the same as the above, see if it works the same way.

Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2008, 05:49:56 pm »

I assume that for wireless you tried running vlwifi? That should be the first step.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2008, 06:47:43 pm »

Just one more thing.
Make sure that the lspci command shows the same vendor and product codes as the ones on that webpage.
Quote
man: 168c dev: 0013

If that's the case you should be good to go with the right driver.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2008, 07:55:17 pm »

@M0E-lnx:  Huh?Huh  I use sudo all the time. 

Code:
sudo /sbin/lspci

will definitely work if he has sudo configured correctly.

If you type the command's complete path (/sbin/lspci rather than lspci), you can run the command as user--no su or sudo needed. The results look about the same whether I run as root or run /sbin/lspci as user, but I didn't do a line-by-line comparison.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2008, 07:56:50 pm »

If you can ping a host, then there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with your card or connection.

Try
Code:
ping 216.239.59.103

It will keep on pinging, then hit ctrl-c to cancel and it will tell you how many packets were transmitted.
If this works, there's no need to worry about anything like modules and kernels and the like.

Maybe a dns problem?...
Try
Code:
ping www.google.com


It's the same as the above, see if it works the same way.



Pinging 216.239.59.103 produced only errors.  I changed my dns to the open dns ips inside my router.

but if I can get my router to ping...  why doesnt the laptop work like everything else that is wired to it?  I don't understand.  I want to solve this because it feels like i am missing something stupid.  Other distros handle eth0 without a problem... it has got to be some type of user error.

Just one more thing.
Make sure that the lspci command shows the same vendor and product codes as the ones on that webpage.
Quote
man: 168c dev: 0013

If that's the case you should be good to go with the right driver.

I ran lspci and nothing resembling that showed up.  

it looked like this:
Quote
02:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3256


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2008, 08:20:52 pm »

Quote
Pinging 216.239.59.103 produced only errors.  I changed my dns to the open dns ips inside my router.

but if I can get my router to ping...  why doesnt the laptop work like everything else that is wired to it?  I don't understand.  I want to solve this because it feels like i am missing something stupid.  Other distros handle eth0 without a problem... it has got to be some type of user error.

So does it work after set up the DNS?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!