VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 09:01:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: New install with no ethernet or wifi  (Read 6409 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2008, 08:42:15 pm »

Regarding wireless:  I have the same card you do.  madwifi (shipped with VL 5.9) does work.  ath5k does not with this card/chipset.

Please post the output of:

/sbin/ifconifg -a

Let's see if your card is recognized and assigned interface ath0.  If so, go into wifi-radar and there is a button at the bottom right for configuration or preferences, I forget which.  The version of wifi-radar shipped with VL 5.9 doesn't auto-detect the interface and mis-assigns to something other than ath0.  Change that to ath0 is wifi configuration should be straightforward from there.

The other option is to enable the patches repository in gslapt (you should do this anyway) and upgrade wifi-radar to version 1.9.9.  That version should autodetect your card.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2008, 03:08:19 am »

eth0 only pings router.

My ethernet is still not working.  I can't paste the out put on /sbin/ifconfig -a.

5 interfaces show up.
ath0
etho
eth1
lo
wifi0
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2008, 03:57:16 am »

can you provide the full output of lspci and lsmod?
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2008, 07:29:32 am »

Quote
I ran lspci and nothing resembling that showed up. 

I meant the same vendor and product code for the wireless card (not the ethernet one).
lspci should show you the same numbers as the ones on the list of supported devices:
http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_part.php?brandname=Airlink101

Just to make sure, because sometimes same brands and models ship with different chipsets.
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2008, 05:49:05 pm »

Here are the outputs of lspci, lsmod, and /sbin/ifconfig -a in that order

Quote
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 01)
00:00.1 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 01)
00:00.3 System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 01)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
02:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1420 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
02:04.1 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1420 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
02:06.0 Network controller: Intersil Corporation Prism 2.5 Wavelan chipset (rev 01)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)

eric:$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ieee80211              31560  0
ieee80211_crypt         5504  1 ieee80211
snd_intel8x0m          14988  0
parport_pc             37092  0
parport                32072  1 parport_pc
acpi_cpufreq            7880  0
freq_table              4768  1 acpi_cpufreq
i915                   23296  2
drm                    74388  3 i915
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            32128  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7168  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48720  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7692  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            38048  0
snd_mixer_oss          15232  1 snd_pcm_oss
firewire_ohci          16000  0
firewire_core          36928  1 firewire_ohci
crc_itu_t               2816  1 firewire_core
wlan_scan_sta          12928  1
ath_rate_sample        13184  1
ath_pci                89504  0
wlan                  192964  4 wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
ohci1394               32432  0
ath_hal               190672  3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
ieee1394               82360  1 ohci1394
8139too                23168  0
mii                     5504  1 8139too
serio_raw               6276  0
orinoco_pci             5888  0
orinoco                39060  1 orinoco_pci
hermes                  7168  2 orinoco_pci,orinoco
snd_intel8x0           29980  2
i2c_i801                8592  0
snd_ac97_codec         98084  2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69764  4 snd_intel8x0m,snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19972  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    45796  15 snd_intel8x0m,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  3 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
iTCO_wdt                9640  0
i2c_core               20992  1 i2c_i801
shpchp                 30228  0
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
intel_agp              22164  1
agpgart                28108  3 drm,intel_agp
evdev                   8704  4
joydev                  9152  0

eric:$ /sbin/ifconfig -a
ath0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1D:6A:19:3D:CE  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:96:55:20:D0  
          inet addr:192.168.0.199  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:02:3F:B7:55:65  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:22 Base address:0x3000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:4104 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4104 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:387856 (378.7 KiB)  TX bytes:387856 (378.7 KiB)

wifi0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-1D-6A-19-3D-CE-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:442 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:626
          TX packets:1272 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
          RX bytes:42493 (41.4 KiB)  TX bytes:62328 (60.8 KiB)
          Interrupt:16
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2008, 05:56:39 pm »

Regarding wireless:  I have the same card you do.  madwifi (shipped with VL 5.9) does work.  ath5k does not with this card/chipset.

Please post the output of:

/sbin/ifconifg -a

Let's see if your card is recognized and assigned interface ath0.  If so, go into wifi-radar and there is a button at the bottom right for configuration or preferences, I forget which.  The version of wifi-radar shipped with VL 5.9 doesn't auto-detect the interface and mis-assigns to something other than ath0.  Change that to ath0 is wifi configuration should be straightforward from there.

The other option is to enable the patches repository in gslapt (you should do this anyway) and upgrade wifi-radar to version 1.9.9.  That version should autodetect your card.

I messed around with the "wifi radar" app and the preferences menu in the lower right hand corner.  I am running a wpa protected home network and the i don't know what to type in the driver box for the wpa option.  I typed in "wpa_supllicant" and "ath_pci" and they didn't work.  Searching this forum for "wpa driver" turned up nothing.

Wifi and ethernet still doesn't work.

Regarding the eth0 connection that isn't working... I saw this article on digg about the new kernel and it talked about intel ethernet issues.  Does that mean anything?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2008, 06:00:35 pm »

Based on your ifconfig -a output your eth0 is getting an IP. Do es that get reply while trying to ping your router?
You have 3 network device in your system, eth0 is refering to the Realtek or the Intersil device?
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2008, 06:47:54 pm »

Based on your ifconfig -a output your eth0 is getting an IP. Do es that get reply while trying to ping your router?
You have 3 network device in your system, eth0 is refering to the Realtek or the Intersil device?

I don't follow you.

When I got to VasmCC and click on netconf... it tries to set up eth0.  I dont specify anything when I ping my router.  I just type "ping 192.168.0.1"

Should I set up my eth0 or eth1 another way?
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2008, 09:47:40 pm »

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:96:55:20:D0 
          inet addr:192.168.0.199  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

According to your ifconfig, your eth0 is set with an IP 192.168.0.199. Is your router distribute the IP manually or via DHCP?  In VASM or VASMCC, you can configure your eth0 either with static IP (manually specific an IP) nor get it from your router via DHCP.

OK. Now can you get any reply pinging your router? If yes then that mean your network connection is established. If you cannot surf net one of the possible problem is due to DNS setting. Some ISP will provide a dedicated DNS, either you set it in your VL using VASM/VASMCC or you can put it in your router and distribute it to your system via DHCP.

I saw that there are 3 network devices in your system. And it seem the modules is loaded for all 3. Maybe we start to tackle 1 network devices one at time.... Smiley

Quote
02:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:06.0 Network controller: Intersil Corporation Prism 2.5 Wavelan chipset (rev 01)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)

Quote
ieee80211_crypt         5504  1 ieee80211
mii                     5504  1 8139too
orinoco                39060  1 orinoco_pci
hermes                  7168  2 orinoco_pci,orinoco
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2008, 05:06:06 am »

So i should, in theory, be connected to the internet?  I have no idea what i am doing wrong.

I went to my router and i was able to ping the "192.168.0.199" ip.  I attached a screenshot.  Does that mean anything?

I am going to list the steps I take with a couple attempts at Netconf in the VasmCC menu.

1)host name: eric.laptop
2)DHCP
3) quick msg "configuring inert1 with DHCP"

and... successful?  AMAZING! ok great... I have a lease on the 192.168.0.199 for 999999 minutes. For my linux ego, is there a rational explanation for why it didn't connect all the other times?  And will it do this in the future?

I am updating the vector laptop with gslapt now.  I will post from there after vlwifi is updated.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #25 on: October 18, 2008, 07:58:28 am »

Nice one, it's getting there!

Quote
I am updating the vector laptop with gslapt now

Careful with that. You will find that unlike other distributions the upgrade button is disabled in gslapt.
This is because things might get broken if you upgrade wildly.
From my own experience they actually don't, but I wouldn't advise it anyway.

You can still upgrade everything from the command line, but it's really not something to be recommended on a fresh 5.9 Standard install:
Code:
slapt-get --update
slapt-get --upgrade

It's best to pick the packages yourself that you want to upgrade. To see what new stuff is available do:
Code:
slapt-get --update
slapt-get --upgrade -s

The -s switch will "simulate" the upgrade and you can see what is new in the repositories.
Also, make sure you enable the patches repository in your gslapt sources.

Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #26 on: October 18, 2008, 08:42:59 am »

its gone again... my internet. 

Ping still works from both the laptop to the router and router to laptop.  But the browser doesnt connect.  I don't think anything is using the eth0 connection.  Gslapt shows a zero download rate as it runs through its dependencies and lists.  I tried downloading the wicd and I think it may have disabled the connection.  It also made wifi-radar disappear as an app accessible from the network menu.  There are still some files at /etc/wifi-radar/ though.

I guess i am back to square one...  should i have done something different (had the pmcia card out?  prayed more? voted republican?) during the install process?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #27 on: October 18, 2008, 08:54:07 am »

Sounds like a DNS problem.

Try this in a terminal:

cat /etc/resolv.conf

You are looking for nameserver with an address which should
be the ip of your router.

Bigpaws
Logged
cornbread
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #28 on: October 19, 2008, 07:25:25 pm »

Hey everyone.  I wanted to thank you for the help over the week.  I got my laptop working but not with vector.  I googled and googled some more until I found this walkthrough

With opensuse and those directions, I had wifi and ethernet up in about an hour.  Maybe some resources like that may help with the learning curve.  I didn't have to post a single item in the opensuse forums. 

With the amount of atheros/wifi issues, would you get less posts on the subject with a similar approach? 

Again thank you, you have a wonderful and active community here that treats users with respect.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #29 on: October 19, 2008, 07:34:43 pm »

All the while you are trying to connect using your Atheros wireless card or your wired NIC card?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!