Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Cups 404 Error  (Read 2049 times)

VgnFrnd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
Cups 404 Error
« on: October 16, 2008, 06:15:30 pm »
Hello. 5.9.1 SOHO is nice.

Meanwhile, cups returns a 404 error on a fresh installation. The service starts up at run level 4. I have tried fiddling with my /etc/hosts file and reinstalling cups. Google is fruitless, and I couldn't find anyone here with a similar issue.

Would anyone like to hazard any guesses? I'm out of ideas.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 08:07:16 am »
have you tried to make sure the service is actually running?

Code: [Select]
server cups status
I've seen this happen on different versions of cups
try accessing localhost:631/admin
That has worked for me when I get the 404 error

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 08:13:35 am »
M0E means:
Code: [Select]
service cups status

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2008, 08:14:39 am »
yeah... that

Thanks wcs ;)

VgnFrnd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 01:39:32 pm »
Thanks, guys:

Code: [Select]
service cups status
Returns:

Code: [Select]
scheduler is running
and:

Code: [Select]
localhost:631/admin
does indeed get me to the admin page for cups, but it's ugly (see attached jpg).

Of course, working is working, so I suppose I am happy. Still, I'm curious as to what might be distorting the interface.


GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 06:15:24 pm »
I haven't tried 5.9.1 SOHO, but the "ugly interface" for CUPS has been a recurring problem. It popped up during beta testing for 5.9 Standard and it's there in VL 6 alpha 2. It was fixed somewhere along the line in VL 5.9 Standard and I'm sure it'll be fixed in VL 6. I think the problem was that the path for the graphics was wrong or the graphics were missing.

Are other people having the same problem with 5.9.1?
--GrannyGeek
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller