VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Cups 404 Error  (Read 2100 times)

VgnFrnd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
Cups 404 Error
« on: October 16, 2008, 07:15:30 pm »

Hello. 5.9.1 SOHO is nice.

Meanwhile, cups returns a 404 error on a fresh installation. The service starts up at run level 4. I have tried fiddling with my /etc/hosts file and reinstalling cups. Google is fruitless, and I couldn't find anyone here with a similar issue.

Would anyone like to hazard any guesses? I'm out of ideas.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 09:07:16 am »

have you tried to make sure the service is actually running?

Code: [Select]
server cups status
I've seen this happen on different versions of cups
try accessing localhost:631/admin
That has worked for me when I get the 404 error

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 09:13:35 am »

M0E means:
Code: [Select]
service cups status
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2008, 09:14:39 am »

yeah... that

Thanks wcs ;)

VgnFrnd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 91
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 02:39:32 pm »

Thanks, guys:

Code: [Select]
service cups status
Returns:

Code: [Select]
scheduler is running
and:

Code: [Select]
localhost:631/admin
does indeed get me to the admin page for cups, but it's ugly (see attached jpg).

Of course, working is working, so I suppose I am happy. Still, I'm curious as to what might be distorting the interface.

Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: Cups 404 Error
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 07:15:24 pm »

I haven't tried 5.9.1 SOHO, but the "ugly interface" for CUPS has been a recurring problem. It popped up during beta testing for 5.9 Standard and it's there in VL 6 alpha 2. It was fixed somewhere along the line in VL 5.9 Standard and I'm sure it'll be fixed in VL 6. I think the problem was that the path for the graphics was wrong or the graphics were missing.

Are other people having the same problem with 5.9.1?
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller