VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 01:29:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wine install Question  (Read 2097 times)
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« on: June 22, 2008, 03:10:19 am »

I've installed wine1.0 using Gslapt and it's working really well.

On the WineHQ site it states that wine should not be installed as root but when you use Gslapt to install you're asked for the root password so have I installed wine as root?

Chris
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2008, 04:26:23 am »

I've installed wine1.0 using Gslapt and it's working really well.

On the WineHQ site it states that wine should not be installed as root but when you use Gslapt to install you're asked for the root password so have I installed wine as root?

Chris

No  the root password is only required for the Gslapt access.
Wine will be installed in /home/usr/.wine directory.

Have a good Day,
Dave

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2008, 04:28:06 am »

P.S.  forgot to say that in order to view the wine dirctory you'll have to click the box to show hidden files in which ever file manager your using. 

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2008, 04:45:28 am »

I've installed wine1.0 using Gslapt and it's working really well.

On the WineHQ site it states that wine should not be installed as root but when you use Gslapt to install you're asked for the root password so have I installed wine as root?

Chris

No  the root password is only required for the Gslapt access.
Wine will be installed in /home/usr/.wine directory.

Have a good Day,
Dave



 Huh Not here. Its in stalled to /usr, not to home. All I have in my home directory is .wine, which seems to contain setup files. The rest of the files are in the usr tree.

 Grin Not that it seems to worry anything - its working just fine here also.

paul.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2008, 04:49:14 am »

I've installed wine1.0 using Gslapt and it's working really well.

On the WineHQ site it states that wine should not be installed as root but when you use Gslapt to install you're asked for the root password so have I installed wine as root?

Chris

No  the root password is only required for the Gslapt access.
Wine will be installed in /home/usr/.wine directory.

Have a good Day,
Dave



 Huh Not here. Its in stalled to /usr, not to home. All I have in my home directory is .wine, which seems to contain setup files. The rest of the files are in the usr tree.

 Grin Not that it seems to worry anything - its working just fine here also.

paul.

your Correct  it is set up in usr the .wine file in home/usr/ are the actual setup and programs files being run.
in any event it is not installed to /root.
Cheers!

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
sparkyhall
Vectorite
***
Posts: 118


« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2008, 01:39:13 pm »

Thanks for the replies, just needed some reassurance that I wasn't doing anything wrong.

Chris
Logged
Martin109
Vectorite
***
Posts: 290


« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2008, 05:15:22 am »

In my case, after installing Wine, I found Mysql wouldn't run anymore, so I removed Wine and Mysql is back to normal.  So I'll leave this for now, as Mysql is much, much more important to me than any Wine functionality!

I'd still be interested in why this happens though.
Logged

Compaq Armada E500, i686 Pentium III, 512Mb RAM, 3.2 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 5.9 Standard

Fujitsu Lifebook, i686 Pentium M, 1.7 GHz, 1028Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard

Compaq Evo, i686 Pentium M, 1.4 GHz, 512Mb RAM, 40 Gb HDD, running Vector Linux 6.0 Standard
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!