VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: adding DVDrom  (Read 2501 times)

bujums

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
adding DVDrom
« on: October 19, 2008, 10:13:04 am »

I need to know how to install a DVD-Rom.  There is a CD-Rom in the now.  Currently the computer does not have access to internet... I did try to put it in but I got several errors when I booted the computer and then it did not work at all.  I did try VASM in the "Hardware" area and it only said I had a CD-Rom... it mounted the DVD-Rom but it still did not really work.  the computer is an older one.  With a recient install of 5.9 Standard Version, using XFCE.
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: adding DVDrom
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 10:38:30 am »

Can you be a bit more specific?
What type of DVD reader is this and how does it connect? Internal, external?
What errors did you get at boot?
What do you mean "it still did not really work"?

The "Hardware" bit in Vasm is just to create a cdrom link if necessary; it's not supposed to show a dvd icon.


Logged

bujums

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Re: adding DVDrom
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 11:59:55 am »

Here are some andswers to WCS questions,  unfortunately It will take more time for me to get more info than this.   Would an extern DVD reader be easier for the system?

* This is an Internal DVD reader and rewrite Rom with 1 x IDE cable - l, 1 x Audio cable -
* I can't remember the Error exactly... it was at boot and said something about an rror with slave drive and to hit F1 to continue... I should have written it down.
* It mounted the  when a DVD was inserted but then froze after the dvd startded to play.  Also it would not eject manually or by using the icon to request eject. 

Thanks for the info about VASM hardware section, that makes sence...
Logged

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: adding DVDrom
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2008, 12:42:05 pm »

Was this a film?
Can you try it with a data DVD, and see if you can mount it and access the contents?

If the DVD mounted, there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with getting the drive recognised.
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: adding DVDrom
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2008, 12:52:50 pm »

* I can't remember the Error exactly... it was at boot and said something about an rror with slave drive and to hit F1 to continue... I should have written it down.
This error is from the BIOS, most likely you need to change the jumper on the dvd drive.
fix this error before booting into the OS

Uelsk8s
Logged

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: adding DVDrom
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 10:12:44 pm »

It sound more like a jumper issue.....try change the jumper setting on your DVDROM for a try...
Logged