VectorLinux
October 31, 2014, 12:32:22 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: adding DVDrom  (Read 2251 times)
bujums
Member
*
Posts: 72



« on: October 19, 2008, 09:13:04 am »

I need to know how to install a DVD-Rom.  There is a CD-Rom in the now.  Currently the computer does not have access to internet... I did try to put it in but I got several errors when I booted the computer and then it did not work at all.  I did try VASM in the "Hardware" area and it only said I had a CD-Rom... it mounted the DVD-Rom but it still did not really work.  the computer is an older one.  With a recient install of 5.9 Standard Version, using XFCE.
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2008, 09:38:30 am »

Can you be a bit more specific?
What type of DVD reader is this and how does it connect? Internal, external?
What errors did you get at boot?
What do you mean "it still did not really work"?

The "Hardware" bit in Vasm is just to create a cdrom link if necessary; it's not supposed to show a dvd icon.


Logged
bujums
Member
*
Posts: 72



« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 10:59:55 am »

Here are some andswers to WCS questions,  unfortunately It will take more time for me to get more info than this.   Would an extern DVD reader be easier for the system?

* This is an Internal DVD reader and rewrite Rom with 1 x IDE cable - l, 1 x Audio cable -
* I can't remember the Error exactly... it was at boot and said something about an rror with slave drive and to hit F1 to continue... I should have written it down.
* It mounted the  when a DVD was inserted but then froze after the dvd startded to play.  Also it would not eject manually or by using the icon to request eject. 

Thanks for the info about VASM hardware section, that makes sence...
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2008, 11:42:05 am »

Was this a film?
Can you try it with a data DVD, and see if you can mount it and access the contents?

If the DVD mounted, there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with getting the drive recognised.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2008, 11:52:50 am »

* I can't remember the Error exactly... it was at boot and said something about an rror with slave drive and to hit F1 to continue... I should have written it down.
This error is from the BIOS, most likely you need to change the jumper on the dvd drive.
fix this error before booting into the OS

Uelsk8s
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 09:12:44 pm »

It sound more like a jumper issue.....try change the jumper setting on your DVDROM for a try...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!