VectorLinux
September 23, 2014, 05:58:33 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] New Install Does Not Recognize Ethernet Card  (Read 6131 times)
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« on: October 22, 2008, 04:52:01 am »

Hello,

I am a new Linux user.  I have installed Vector Linux (5.9 Standard) on a Dell Inspiron 4000 laptop I received with not OS installed.  The laptop has 128 MB RAM and a 10 GB hard disk.  I have no way of positively identifying the chip set of the ethernet card (I even opened up the laptop but found no clues) but it is integrated into the motherboard.  A friend with the same laptop says Windows shows the network adapter as an Intel 8255x based PCI Ethernet Adapter - Odyssey Network Agent Miniport.  A Google search turned up no Linux drivers for that adapter Sad

The Vextor install did so quite smoothly  Smiley  But I do recall seeing the message no ethertnet card detected, or something to that effect.  After reading a similar post I ran the lspci command and got the following results:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
00:03.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1420 PC card Cardbus Controller
00:03.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1420 PC card Cardbus Controller
00:07.0 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 03)
00:08.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1983S Maestro-3i PCI Audio Accelerator (rev 10)
00:10.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems WinModem 56k (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x

I am currently at work, so I am not able to connect to my home router, although I do have access to a router here at the office if that will help.

Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: October 30, 2008, 08:49:20 am by efincoop » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 06:06:45 am »

If your machine is similar to this one:
http://www.cnbc.cmu.edu/~masmith/i4000/
there may be a modem/NIC combo card installed.

Try "modprobe e100" or "modprobe eepro100" and see if it takes it.
Logged
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2008, 06:19:03 am »

Thanks nightflier.  I found the eepro100.ko file in /lib/modules/2.6.22.14/kernal/drivers.

It took modprobe eepro100, but returned nothing  Huh
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2008, 06:29:36 am »

If it took modprobe eepro100, then you should be on your way. Try "ifconfig eth0 up", then "dhcpcd eth0".
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2008, 06:41:03 am »

pls post your lsmod and ifconfig -a

try double check the bios setting is the NIC disable......double check the log file inside your /var/log for any info about your nic...
Logged
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2008, 08:17:40 am »

nightflier: ifconfig eth0 up results:

root:# ifconfig eth0 up
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device  Sad

hata_ph:  I checked the bios and the miniPCI entry shows enabled.  I'm not sure what log you want me to to check in /var/log as there seem to to be several.  Is it the boot.log I should inspect?  In any case what should I look for specifically, that something failed, or was loaded successfully?

lsmod results:
root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
eepro100               27664  0
mii                     5504  1 eepro100
freq_table              4768  0
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            32128  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7168  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                48720  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7692  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            38048  0
snd_mixer_oss          15232  1 snd_pcm_oss
serio_raw               6276  0
snd_maestro3           21540  2
snd_ac97_codec         98084  1 snd_maestro3
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69764  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19972  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8712  1 snd_pcm
snd                    45796  14 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_maestro3,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7008  1 snd
i2c_piix4               8332  0
i2c_core               20992  1 i2c_piix4
shpchp                 30228  0
intel_agp              22164  1
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
agpgart                28108  1 intel_agp
joydev                  9152  0
evdev                   8704  0

ifconfig -a Results
root:# ifconfig -a
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:804 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:804 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:40200 (39.2 KiB)  TX bytes:40200 (39.2 KiB)

also modinfo Results:
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.22.14/kernel/drivers/net/eepro100.ko
license:        GPL
description:    Intel i82557/i82558/i82559 PCI EtherExpressPro driver
author:         Maintainer: Andrey V. Savochkin <saw@saw.sw.com.sg>
alias:          pci:v00008086d00005201sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00005200sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000245Dsv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00002459sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00002449sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001227sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001059sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001050sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000103Esv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000103Dsv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000103Csv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000103Bsv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d0000103Asv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001039sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001038sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001037sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001036sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001035sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001034sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001033sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001032sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001031sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001030sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001029sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001209sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
alias:          pci:v00008086d00001229sv*sd*bc*sc*i*
depends:        mii
vermagic:       2.6.22.14 SMP preempt mod_unload 586
parm:           use_io:int
parm:           debug:debug level (0-6) (int)
parm:           options:Bits 0-3: transceiver type, bit 4: full duplex, bit 5: 100Mbps (array of int)
parm:           full_duplex:full duplex setting(s) (1) (array of int)
parm:           congenb:Enable congestion control (1) (int)
parm:           txfifo:Tx FIFO threshold in 4 byte units, (0-15) (int)
parm:           rxfifo:Rx FIFO threshold in 4 byte units, (0-15) (int)
parm:           txdmacount:Tx DMA burst length; 128 - disable (0-128) (int)
parm:           rxdmacount:Rx DMA burst length; 128 - disable (0-128) (int)
parm:           rx_copybreak:copy breakpoint for copy-only-tiny-frames (int)
parm:           max_interrupt_work:maximum events handled per interrupt (int)
« Last Edit: October 22, 2008, 10:06:36 am by efincoop » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2008, 10:41:10 am »

The module eepro100 seems to be loaded. Try running "netmenu" as root in a terminal and configure an inet.
Logged
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2008, 11:03:11 am »

nightflier, I opened a terminal session and signed in as root.

The response to 'netmenu' (without quotes) was bash: netmenu: command not found  Huh

I am able to run vasm and I see an inet option in there under the network menu option.  I see several entries such as inet1 DEVICE =eth0,DCHP.  If I select the entry, then click Set & OK I see "dummy0 Dummy interface for in-host network".  DO I really want to try and configure a "dummy interface"?
« Last Edit: October 22, 2008, 11:15:48 am by efincoop » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2008, 11:47:52 am »

I goofed, the command is "vnetmenu". However, that is the same as you get to through vasm.
You would want to try and configure something that uses "eth0" or "eth1". First delete all inets and then create a new one.

What happens when you try commands "ifconfig eth0 up", "ifconfig eth1 up" and so on up to maybe eth4?
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2008, 11:48:57 am »

I think he meant netconfig rather than netmenu.

You do NOT want the dummy interface.  eth0 is what you want to configure.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2008, 01:10:07 pm »

nightflier:  I deleted all of the inet entries, however when I attempt to add a new one I get 2 choices.  One is to reclyce one of the previous inet entries, the other choice is to create a new entry.  In either case though, I am always presented with a single choice of "dummy0 Dummy interface for in-host network"   Huh

Caitlyn: Thank you for joining the fun  Wink  I can run net config as root in the terminal, but the second step in asks for a domain extension such as .org.  Forgive my ignorance, but what do I enter for my simple home network?  Is this the same as my workgroup name or should I be entering something else?
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2008, 01:17:31 pm »

The domain doesn't matter on a home network.  You can leave it blank or add something, anything.  If configuring multilple machines on the same local network the domain names should match.  Workgroup is a Windows thing and doesn't apply.


Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2008, 02:08:21 pm »

Doesn't look like the hardware is coming up. Did you try module e100? Remove the other one first with "modprobe -r eepro100".
Logged
efincoop
Member
*
Posts: 20


« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2008, 03:11:50 pm »

nightflier, I followed your advice removed eepro100 and installed ee100.  Then ran ifconfig eth0 up and got the same error as before "eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device"

Caitlyn, I was able to run through netconfig without errors.  I got a message stating basic network configuration is complete.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2008, 03:36:43 pm »

It completely and correctly configured eth0 in netconfig?  Then your network should be up.  Please post the output of

/sbin/ifconfig -a

to confirm

If eth0 has an IP address than see if you can ping www.yahoo.com
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!